| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			R1 signals for a fair catch beyond the neutral zone on K's 40. K2 interfers with R1's opportunity to make the catch. R chooses to put the ball in play with a snap. During the down, A1 gains 15 yards and the coach of B is charged with an unsportslike foul. 
Ruling: The unsportsmanlike foul during the down does not give A another choice to snap or free kick. 
 
My Question: On what rule is this interpretation based? I know it is a succeeding spot administration, but where (if any) does the rule book say this should be considered or treated like a dead ball foul (and the down has ended)? It is not a lose of down or auto first down situation (NF) and the foul occurred during the down. 
 
I could buy the arugment that a new series was awarded, therefore we were not replaying the down - except for the fact in the next situation, B commits DPI carrying an auto first down. They say A retains their options. 
 
Why, by rule, should A loose their options? 
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	 |