The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 07, 2004, 09:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 522
Quote:
Originally posted by dboone17
On an incidental facemask penalty I know it is tacked on to the end of the run but my question is if the penalty yards are not enough for a first down do you still repeat the down? I've been seeing it both ways and now I'm confused.
An incidental facemask penalty is not always "tacked on" to the end of the run--it is enforced under the all but one principle. If before a pass, B incidentally grasps an A player's facemask the basic spot is the previous spot, and then penalty is enforced from there.

As already mentioned, 5-2-2 says that the the next down will be the same in number as down in which the foul occured (unless is LOD foul, an automatic first down, or enforcement of the penalty results in a first down).
__________________
If the play is designed to fool someone, make sure you aren't the fool.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1