The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 05, 2004, 09:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 463
Oh dear, not again. We batted this question around McGriff's forever. We never got a definitive answer from Adams on the topic.

Basically, there are two ways to look at it:

1) Treat the 4DFR as a foul, which means that it is ignored for clock status purposes. You assume that the fumble recovery is totally valid when starting the clock. Therefore, in your play, since the clock stopped for the "apparent" TD, it would start again on the snap. Several of the veteran NCAA guys said that this is the correct interpretation, and that they'd seen something official on the topic several years back.

2) Note that the 4DFR is NOT a foul, so its effects ARE considered for clock status purposes. In your case, this interpretation would say that the clock stopped only because the line to gain was reached, and so would restart on the ready. This is the interpretation that a strict reading of the rules yields.

Personally, I'm guessing that when an official answer gets handed down, it will be in line with the vets, option #1.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1