The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 24, 2004, 11:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 140
Re: Re: Did anything change?

Incorrect Rut. The rule says to start on the snap when a new series is awarded after a legal kick. Otherwise we start on the ready. Here we do not have a new series. Start on the ready. [/B][/QUOTE]

I respectfully disagree. Paraphrasing from the Fundamental Statements section of the Rule Book, "If R touches a scrimmage kick beyond the LOS, it will be a 1st down for the team in posession when the down ends." K/A is awarded a new series, therefore start on the snap since the previous play was a legal kick.

Anytime a team gets a 1st down, they are awarded a new series (of 4 downs).

[Edited by jack015 on Aug 24th, 2004 at 12:32 PM]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1