The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 22, 2004, 09:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
Quote:
Originally posted by keystoneref
Rule 7.1.2 clearly states "the snapper may lift the ball. . . (but may not rotate it end-for-end or change location) or fail to keep the long axis [parallel to] the line of scrimmage."
...snip...
Parallel?? surely you meant perpendicular to.

I'm sure the rule about lifting means to allow the center to pick it up a few inches off the ground at most so he can adjust it. Maybe he wants the laces on the left and the Ump set the laces on the right. I believe thats the intent of the rule which is not to let him reach down and raise it up to his midsection. As far as I'm concerned, he just started the snap with that action.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1