The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 22, 2004, 06:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 81
Hmm... I had an occurance of this happen in a youth scrimmage yesterday. One of my colleagues told the linemen that if the center lifted the ball, he could hit 'em.

That was wrong.

Rule 7.1.2 clearly states "the snapper may lift the ball. . . but may not rotate it end-for-end or change location or fail to keep the long axis [parallel to] the line of scrimmage."
--Clearly this means that the snapper may lift the ball to make an adjustment.

Rule 7.1.3: The snapper shall not: d) *following adjustment* (see rule 7.1.2), life or move the ball other than in a legal snap.

I would say that the center, preparing to snap the ball, may lift the ball to rotate it or place it on end if he sees fit.

This year's casebook only sites rule 7.1.3, but it clearly states in the ruling that those fouls only apply AFTER preliminary adjustments, which may include lifting the ball off the ground to rotate it.

-Craig
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1