Quote:
Originally posted by devilsadvocate
I see alot of lineman in the nfl and college grasp the jersey of the defensive lineman during a block (within the frame of both players). Clearly, if you are grasping the jersey of the other player you are "holding" him. But as a casual observer it seems that "grasping the jersey" is not necessarily holding penalty.
Is there some leeway on this? What do you guys let lineman do that is within the spirit of the rule?
|
Sure there's some leeway. What I first look for in holding is if itÂ’s at the point of attack? If not, then thereÂ’s no advantage gained and no reason to call it. . If itÂ’s holding during a double team IÂ’ll usually let it go unless itÂ’s a blatant take- down and I judge that the offended had a legitimate chance to make the play. If I see a jursey being held within the frame of the defender but the defender isnÂ’t being restrained then I will let it go. Sometimes an offensive player will take hold of his opponentÂ’s jersey and fall backward or down taking the player down with him. If I see that, I call it!