![]() |
|
|
|||
Re: wrong rule
Quote:
The words "where the ball becomes dead" in the rule has the same meaning as saying "if the ball becomes dead." It's not declaring that the ball automatically becomes dead in such a situation. In such situations, you need to let the down play itself out until the ball becomes dead by rule. Then if the ball has become dead in B's endzone, the momentum exception kicks in and the ball is awarded to B at his 4 yard line. Consider these plays: As pass is intercepted by B20 at Bs 3. His momentum carries him into his endzone where: (a) he falls to the ground. RULING ME applies. Bs ball 1-10 from Bs 3 (b) he is tackled in the endzone by A45. RULING ME applies. Bs ball 1-10 from Bs 3 (c) he fumbles the ball and it rolls across the endline. RULING ME applies. Bs ball 1-10 from Bs 3 (d) he hands the ball to his teammate, B12 who runs out of bounds in the endzone. RULING ME applies. Bs ball 1-10 from Bs 3 (e) he sees hes about to get tackled so he throws the ball backwards across the endline. RULING ME applies. Bs ball 1-10 from Bs 3. (f) He attempts to run the ball out and gets tackled at his 1. RULING ME does not apply. Bs ball 1-10 from Bs 1. (g) He brings the ball back into the field of play and then circles back into the end zone where he is tackled. RULING ME does not apply. Safety. Award A two points. And remember that the basic spot for any fouls that occur after the interception is the end of the run which, according to NF 10-3-3c is Bs 3 (the spot of the interception). And dont forget to apply the all-but-one principle in such cases.
__________________
Bob M. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|