The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 28, 2004, 11:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
Re: wrong rule

Quote:
Originally posted by jumpmaster
oops!
I should have cited '8-5-2a EXCEPTION' - when B catches a kick between 5 yard line and his goal line, and his original momentum carries him into the endzone, the ball is dead in his teams' possession at the spot where the kick was caught.

FWIW - 8.5.3 sit B states that the ball becomes dead when the kick breaks the plane of R's goal line.
### The ball does not become dead just because B's momentum takes him into the EZ. The ball is returned to the spot of catche if by rule, it subsequently becomes dead in the EZ in team-b's possession. Such as if he takes a knee in the EZ.

Exmaple 8.5.3-sit.b is a kicked ball going into the EZ. Once caught (or for that matter recovered) the KICK part of the play is over. Definitions! we gotta know them else the wrong result will be applied.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1