The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 28, 2004, 09:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally posted by jumpmaster
Quote:
Originally posted by ljudge
No, the R team member is holding a live ball.
ljudge,
FED rules - ball is dead when it crosses the goal line. Rule 8-5-3a1. Momentum exception in effect.

I don't know about NCAA rules...
I don't quite get your response to the question regarding a player catching a kick on the 4 yard line and carrying it into the end zone. You said the ball is dead when it crosses the goal line and referenced Rule 8-5-3.a.1. Then you said momentum rule in effect.These two statements contradict each other.The referenced rule relates to a loose ball following a free kick or scrimmage kick. The question was about a ball in player possession, not loose. The momentum rule is an exception to the safety rule found in 8-5-2.a. If a defensive player catches or intercepts between the 5 yard line and the goal line the ball is still alive and he may run it out. However, if the ball becomes dead in the end zone in his teams possession or goes out of bounds in the end zone, it is not a safety and his team gets the ball where it was caught or intercepted.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1