The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 28, 2004, 04:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,829
Quote:
Originally posted by Jim S
Wrong. The determination is force.
B(R) does not have to have possession in order to apply a new force to the ball.
K kicks to R. R runs to the R10 and fumbles, K picks up the ball and runs to the 5 where K fumbles. The ball comes to rest at the 2 and R in attempting to retrieve the ball accidently kicks it into the EZ and across the endline. Result is a safety. R's force is what put the ball into the EZ.
DO NOT get trapped into this on a kick though. A kick ends when the ball becomes dead by rule, or a player gains possession. This may be what you are thinking of.
Jim is correct. B can "cause" the ball to go into the endzone as well as possess it first. Simply touching the ball that is already moving toward the endzone is not a new force. The concept is "WHO" caused the ball to go into the endzone.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1