The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 12, 2004, 10:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally posted by jransom
Quote:
Originally posted by Bob Floyd
Intentional offensive pass interference. 15+15 against A from previous spot (B's 7 yard line). Loss of down. B's ball 1st and 10 at B's 37 yard line. Decline A's foul for intentional kicking.
Although this is what most of us would probably do, it's not the worst that can happen...What if I told you that it's B's ball 1st & 10 from the A48? In addition, A82 gets to sit for the rest of the night. Now let's see if anyone can figure out why. Again, I would never actually rule on it this way, but it can be.

Jonathan E. Ransom
I understand where you are coming from on your possible ruling in the play. You would rule A82's illegal kick an USC foul under Rule 9-5-1e and tack on the additional 15 yds, moving the ball from B's 37 to A's 48. This is a stretch. I would think the illegal kick would fall under Rule 9-7-1. making it part of a multiple foul situation. 9-5 primarily deals with fouls which occur outside of a play in progress.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:17am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1