The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 10, 2004, 12:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
2Q, 4 seconds remaining, A 1/10 @ B-15. A1 throws a pass that is intercepted by B2. B2 runs the ball to the A-7 and the period expires during the down. After the interception and during the runback. B3 pushed A4 in the back at the A-45. Also after the interception, A5 grasps facemasks (5-yarder) B2. Options and results for each team (including extension of a period)?

Thanks!
__________________
Mike Sears
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 10, 2004, 04:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally posted by mikesears
2Q, 4 seconds remaining, A 1/10 @ B-15. A1 throws a pass that is intercepted by B2. B2 runs the ball to the A-7 and the period expires during the down. After the interception and during the runback. B3 pushed A4 in the back at the A-45. Also after the interception, A5 grasps facemasks (5-yarder) B2. Options and results for each team (including extension of a period)?

If B declines the penalty for the facemask (i.e. to keep the ball), A will decline the penalty for the Illegal Block in the Back. Then the period would be over.

If B chooses to accept offsetting penalties, the period is extended and replay the down, A 1/10 B15.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 10, 2004, 06:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 710
Once B declines A's facemask, don't A's options go away? B did get the ball with clean hands. Why don't we enforce the block in the back from the end of the run?

I'm trying to learn NCAA enforcements and maybe I'm throwing Fed rules in.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 10, 2004, 09:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
Quote:
Originally posted by ABoselli
Once B declines A's facemask, don't A's options go away? B did get the ball with clean hands. Why don't we enforce the block in the back from the end of the run?

I'm trying to learn NCAA enforcements and maybe I'm throwing Fed rules in.
This is my question Can B decline A's foul if A declines B's foul?

__________________
Mike Sears
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 11, 2004, 06:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
This is a classic example of the NCAA clean hands exception. Both fouls occured after a change of possession (however that is not a prereq for a team-A foul).
Team-B can keep the ball by declining the offsetting foul but their penalty can be completed under 3&1 principle.

The deal is that Team-A can now decline Team-Bs foul if they want to end the quarter. If they accept the foul, the period is extended.

The bottom line from a quote I remenber from Reddings NCAA guide is that the penalty against the team last in possession is not automatic. Always check
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 11, 2004, 06:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
[QUOTE]Originally posted by mikesears
Quote:
This is my question Can B decline A's foul if A declines B's foul?
NCAA:
You have the order wrong, the real question is can A decline Bs foul if B has declined As foul. That answer is Yes.

[Edited by Theisey on Jun 11th, 2004 at 12:48 PM]
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 11, 2004, 08:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 710
I see the 2004 book is finally available.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 11, 2004, 03:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 90
Also...

I think this is a one of many good examples of the NCAA rule that any foul can be declined.

This question always gets me on a test. By the time I am done with everything, I always forget that A would want to have both fouls declined so the half would end.

For the NFHS guys and gals, would this be be different or the same result? In NFHS, can A decline the foul or does it have to be enforced, thus giving B a play?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 11, 2004, 03:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 116
A has no choice-B gets an untimed down.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 11, 2004, 06:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally posted by Matt-MI
A has no choice-B gets an untimed down.
Matt is correct. Check out Case Book play 10.2.2 Situation D. Once B declines A2's foul there are no more choices. B's foul is enforced and there is an untimed down. NF rules.

[Edited by Bob Floyd on Jun 11th, 2004 at 07:59 PM]
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 13, 2004, 09:40am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally posted by mikesears
2Q, 4 seconds remaining, A 1/10 @ B-15. A1 throws a pass that is intercepted by B2. B2 runs the ball to the A-7 and the period expires during the down. After the interception and during the runback. B3 pushed A4 in the back at the A-45. Also after the interception, A5 grasps facemasks (5-yarder) B2. Options and results for each team (including extension of a period)?

Thanks!
Canadian Ruling: we need to know where the ball was then B3 pushes A4 in the back. Let's say the A-50, because a push in the rear is more likely to occur ahead of the ball. Also, there is no 5y variety of FM in Canada. This foul will be applied at PF for the IB, the A-50. So, back 10 from the A-50, then up 15 for the FM. B 1D/10 @ A-45. Extend the period for one play.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 13, 2004, 09:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
Thanks! Another question about how to approach some of my fellow NCAA officials. We had a meeting the other night discussing the CCA exam and being the new guy, I didn't want to push the issue. But they came to the conclusion that B would decline A's foul and then B would get an untimed down. They didn't feel that A could then decline B's foul. I didn't agree.

How would you suggest I approach this with them?

Thanks in advance.


__________________
Mike Sears
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 14, 2004, 07:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
Well, you can tell them you have been doing some extra studying and research on this play and start off by pointing them to rule 10 which has a subsection stating that any penalty can be declined.

You could then show them this play from Rom Gilberts FOOTBALL RULES & INTERPRETATIONS EXTENDING A PERIOD - 2003 play situations , Play #15 at http://members.atlantic.net/~gilbertr/b-9721aw.htm

15. PLAY: 4th and 14 on A's 48. B37 catches A4's punt on B's 16 and advances to B's 47. Team A had an illegal formation. B86 holds on B's 46 during the punt. RULING: Team B could elect offsetting fouls and replay the down. Extend the period. If Team B declines offsetting fouls and Team A accepts the holding penalty, it is B's ball, 1st and 10, on B's 8. Extend the period. If Team B declines offsetting fouls and Team A decliness the holding penalty, the period ends.

You should order a copy of Rogers Reddings NCAA study guide which also has a play or two covering this. Or you can get a copy of the NF/NCAA football rules differences book as the two codes are different in this area.




Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 14, 2004, 11:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 90
Talking Hehehe

Or you could just tell them that any foul can be declined.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1