The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 07, 2004, 11:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 264
Question

Play take from POD 5-3:
K's ball 4/12 from R-45. K8 punt is rolling on the R-16 when an IW is blown R76 blocked K84 in the back on the R-22 before the IW.

Ruling given: If penality is declines, the IW during the loose ball dictiates replay of down. (I agree!)
If penality is accepted, the fould negates the IW and results in a PREVIOUS SPOT enforcement.

If I read this right, K gets the ball back for 4/2 from R-35? This seems to me to be a tripple -whammy on R due to an official mistake. K gets the ball back (after kicking it away. I thought PSk eliminated this messed up thinking), they get the 10 yards for the block in back (ok but it is #2 against R) AND get a chance for a 2 yd plunge for 1/10. Seems to me a huge hit for R all for an official mistake.

Why, then, does the penality negate the IW? It would seem to me that if accepted, either PSK should coe into play and R keeps ball but looses 10 yrd (1/2 distance) OR you replay down w/ NO yardage markoff.

Please clear me up on this .
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1