The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 18, 2004, 04:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 57
Quote:
K's ball 4/12 from R-45. K8 punt is rolling on the R-16 when an IW is blown R76 blocked K84 in the back on the R-22 before the IW.

Ruling given: If penality is declined, the IW during the loose ball dictiates replay of down.
If penality is accepted, the foul negates the IW and results in a PREVIOUS SPOT enforcement.
So am I getting it right if I summarize by saying that (as Bob M. and a couple of different NFHS souces have said) a Team R player MUST gain possession of the ball after a kick in order for Team Possession to be granted to R and for PSK to apply?

That is to say, Team R doesn't automatically gain possession just because Team K kicks it away. PSK doesn't define possession, only the spot of enforcement for fouls.

And that then means that the orginal ruling given was correct but if R *had* reached the ball before the IW then PSK enforcement *would* apply and R would get the ball at the succeeding spot minus the penalty yards.

It that the gist of it?

-Sean---

(P.S.: Maybe it's just me, but I think saying that "the foul negates the IW" is misleading or at least confusing.)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1