The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 01, 2004, 08:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: Just to clarify some points made by Double-D...If you are certain that R touched the ball after being blocked into it, you still do not start the clock since you are "ignoring" the touch by R (NF 6-1-5). On the other hand, if the free kick is beyond the 10 yard neutral zone, and K muffs it, the clock is started at that point since such touching by K is "legal" touching, i.e. not "first touching." (NF 3-4-2 & 3-4-3). Double-D may have been saying as much, but I may have been too dense to see it!

One other note...through last season, the only time you "ignored" touching of a free or scrimmage kick by R was if K blocked him into it. Beginning this season, you will also ignore R's touching if K bats or muffs a kick (scrimmage or free) into R. Last year you wouldn't have. Makes for some interesting diffrences in how such plays will be ruled in 2004.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1