The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 28, 2004, 11:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 12
BigG,
I'm a (fed) HL too...
I think Snake~eyes got it right.
and I'll add, what "illegal touch" on the free kick? There's no penalty on this play.

Remember, the clock is not run until the ball is touched (but not first-touching); First touching on a free kick can only occur in the 10-yd NZ...after that it's "free". And if K recovers, we're not letting them advance so zero time should run.

So, with R being blocked into the ball by K, that touching is ignored, and you still haven't wound the clock!
If you thought R then touched the ball, you would have wound the clock. When K recovered, you would have stopped the clock, and indicated posession, right?

Easy to explain to the coach, "Why did I wind the clock if your guy didn't touch the ball?"

But, because you didn't see R touch the ball, the clock remained "not-started", and you blew the play dead when K recovered. Since the other touching was ignored, the ball didn't go 10-yards, R gets the ball where K recovered/first-touching. They're simultaneous in your case.

One other thing, I've assumed the ball was on the ground here...if it was in the air (unlikely), then you'd have a potential kick-catching interference on K for nailing R before the kick touched the ground.

Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1