The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 22, 2004, 12:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally posted by TXMike
My answer is under the NCAA code. As I mentioned, following a very similar play in the Peach Bowl in 2001-2002, an AR was written (AR 7-3-6-X) which defines the act by the airborne player as a "bat" even though he clearly had ball in grasp. Forward passes can be batted in any direction, fumbles cannot be batted forward.
The original scenario stated that B-94 "pitches the ball forward to B-74," asking if it was an illegal forward pass. You have established that a)the act by airborne B-94 was a bat, not a pass, and b)the loose ball was still a fumble, and c)under NCAA rules a fumble cannot be batted forward.

I am assuming that by "forward to B-74" Mr. ares meant "toward the goal line being defended by Team A."

Since the ball was still in Team A possession at the time of the bat by B-94, would not that bat be considered backward, not forward? Therefore it would have been legal under both codes and B gets to keep the ball at A's 39? Or is the "forward" direction of the bat established by the player who batted the fumble, not the team in possession?

Just curious.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1