Quote:
Originally posted by Bob M.
REPLY: The HL threw a flag. When Hochuli announced that the pass thrown at the feet of an eligible was not intentional grounding by rule, I thought (remember "thought" again) that the HL would be red-faced. But when he said that the foul was for an ineligible downfield and the replay clearly showed that #69 had gone beyond the LOS and looped back just about the time the pass was thrown, he was vindicated...and I had the red face.
|
Bob, I saw the play, but didn't at all consider that the HL threw for intentional grounding so it wasn't surprising to me that he had something else. On the replay, I saw the offensive lineman a few yards downfield in advance of the ball, but didn't catch him coming back across the LOS. Is the rule in the NFL that the lineman can return to his side of the LOS before the ball crosses the LOS?
Another consideration, was the ball thrown beyond the LOS?
Also, it would be have to be an exceptional play for a wing to throw a flag for intentional grounding. Consulting with the R to determine if there was an eligible receiver in the area - YES; tossing a flag - NO!