The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 06, 2004, 01:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
Quote:
Originally posted by James Neil
Quote:
Originally posted by Bob Floyd
Bob M. Excellent job re your interpretation of the play situations. I do, however, feel the contact in #3 is illegal contact since it was below the waist. The exception to the clip or block rules allow a player to "use hands and arms to contact an opponent above the waist .......to catch or recover a loose ball which he may legally touch or possess.
Uncle Ernie felt the same way about the clipping. Hold on there Bob. You need to read the whole rule NF 9-3-5 b....Using hands and arms to contact an opponent above the waist in warding off a blocker, "or when attempting to reach a runner", or catch or recover a loose ball which he may legally touch or possess.
REPLY: Agreed. But let's look at NF 9-3-5b. It says:
ART. 5... A player shall not clip or block an opponent in the back except...(b) Using hands and arms to contact an opponent above the waist in warding off a blocker, or when attempting to reach a runner or catch or recover a loose ball which he may legally touch or possess.

I read this to say that the requirement about using my hands above the waist only is if I'm "...warding off a blocker." For the second part of (b), i.e. when I'm going after a loose ball which I may legally possess, there appears to be no such restriction. I guess it's a question of how you read it.

However, let's put ourselves on the field. There's a loose ball and A55 is standing there not realizing it's loose (or maybe he's just in a momentary fog). B23 dives for the ball and happens to hit A55 below the waist from behind in the process. Would you throw the flag in this case? Note, I mean to say that it's abundantly clear that B is going after the ball and his contact with A55 is just incidental to that effort. He's not trying to take A out of the play. It just happens because he's in B's path to the ball.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1