The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 29, 2003, 11:35am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
I was working a HS playoff game last night and the following happened.

#20 was lined up in a slot position -- he intended to be a back, but he was just way too far forward. Half of him was hidden by the end. He also turned inward -- at about a 45 degree angle.

I flagged this as an illegal formation. #20 was not approximately parallel to the line of scrimmage, so he wasn't legally lined up as a lineman. He wasn't far enough back to be a back.

I had the hardest time explaining this to the other wing so he could take this back to the coach. Did what I explain above make sense to anyone? BTW, I could've considered him a lineman and then flagged him for ineligible downfield, too, but I flagged it at the snap.

My season is over. 41-15 last night. A team tried a double reverse from its own end zone and fumbled the second exchange. A B player fell on it for a TD. Horrid play calling there.

Rich
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1