The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2003, 01:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Mullica Hill, NJ
Posts: 798
BBR is correct. As long as everyone had been set for at least one second (before the A player moved up to the line), then the shift provisions have been met so long as a 2nd player didn't move. The situation described cannot be an illegal shift, just motion.

The only difference from what's been described and from the interpretation that I'm providing below is, the player was moving forward in your example. So, this covers if prior to the LAST shift he was set for at least a second.

Here's an interpretation that I downloaded last year from NFHS 2002 interpretations...

SITUATION 8: Team A comes to the line of scrimmage and is motionless for at least one second. Back, A2 legally goes in motion and stops just prior to the ball being snapped. RULING: No foul. A2 is considered to be in motion at the snap. (7-2-7)
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1