The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 03, 2022, 10:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rockville,MD
Posts: 1,181
Quote:
Originally Posted by isuphloyd View Post
4th down, Kicking team needs to reach the 47 yard line. R1 muffs the ball at the 38 yard line and it is recovered by the kicking team at the 40. Does the kicking team get a new set of downs or does the receiving get the ball at the 40? Saw this happen in a game recently, and there was some confusion about it.
Where was the neutral zone? If the ball was not beyond the neutral zone when it was touched, touching by R is ignored. If it was beyond the neutral zone, then K gets a new series at the spot of the recovery.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spotting the ball, close to line-to-gain jTheUmp Football 21 Mon Oct 12, 2009 07:51am
Line to Gain and Down marker goldcoastump Football 6 Mon Sep 11, 2006 12:47pm
Muffed Punt on 3rd down gtwbam Football 3 Mon Sep 04, 2006 11:17am
MNF: Muffed punt tpaul Football 4 Tue Oct 11, 2005 07:15am
penalty enforcement -line to gain pinchmaster Football 21 Wed Nov 03, 2004 07:52pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1