![]() |
|
|
|||
Since the OP requested rules references...
Rule 5-1-3-f Quote:
Quote:
Last edited by Altor; Wed Sep 28, 2022 at 02:40pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Based on the OP, the kick was blocked, but then R muffed the ball 15 yards downfield from the line of scrimmage. This means that the ball was beyond the expanded neutral zone, and thus R's muff cannot be ignored for the purposes of first touching. Therefore, K has legally recovered the ball.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
If the muff was beyond the neutral zone, K is allowed to legally recover and possess the ball, without there being first touching (illegal touching in NCAA rules). The other exception to illegal touching is if there is an accepted penalty against R during the play, and R would not be next to put the ball in play.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Punt behind neutral zone | surehands | Football | 6 | Tue Sep 07, 2021 10:30am |
Punt Blocked in End Zone | ddb | Football | 2 | Tue Aug 29, 2017 10:34am |
Punt past neutral zone... | thunderstruck | Football | 4 | Tue Sep 08, 2015 09:26pm |
NCAA: retain possession after blocked field goal that crosses neutral zone? | humax | Football | 2 | Wed Oct 31, 2007 09:29am |
Expanded Neutral Zone on Punt - Play happened tonight | CruiseMan | Football | 6 | Sat Oct 30, 2004 10:51pm |