The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Oct 27, 2021, 08:05pm
Official Forum Member

Fumble Recovery / OOB

Just to get some discussion going:

NCAA rules. A1 fumbles the ball near the sideline. In attempting to recover the ball, B1 unintentionally goes OOB, jumps from OOB and while in the air over the field of play, grabs the ball. Ruling?

It happened during a game last weekend, and the crew had a spirited discussion during half-time on what the correct ruling should be. I'm just a clock operator, so I just listened and didn't participate -- but I know what I would have ruled.
Old Thu Oct 28, 2021, 12:31am
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Just to get some discussion going:

NCAA rules. A1 fumbles the ball near the sideline. In attempting to recover the ball, B1 unintentionally goes OOB, jumps from OOB and while in the air over the field of play, grabs the ball. Ruling?

It happened during a game last weekend, and the crew had a spirited discussion during half-time on what the correct ruling should be. I'm just a clock operator, so I just listened and didn't participate -- but I know what I would have ruled.
Ball is touched by a player with OOB status, therefore it becomes OOB. Since a player who is out of bounds cannot secure possession, the ball is awarded to team A. If the fumble was touched by B in advance of the spot of the fumble, it is returned to the spot of the fumble. In any scenario it is A's ball, next down (unless A has reached the line to gain).
Old Thu Oct 28, 2021, 06:15am
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilyazhito View Post