The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 27, 2021, 08:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 73
Touching

A punts the ball near sideline. R25 goes out of bounds on his own and before interring back onto the field grabs the ball at the 25 yd line. What do we have?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 27, 2021, 10:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,808
Quote:
Originally Posted by surehands View Post
A punts the ball near sideline. R25 goes out of bounds on his own and before interring back onto the field grabs the ball at the 25 yd line. What do we have?
The ball is dead when he grabbed it. If the player deliberately went out of bounds to interfere with play, illegal participation in NCAA and Fed. It's a live ball foul enforced from where B25 grabbed the ball, which is where both the foul occurred and the scrimmage kick ended.

However, R25 might only have stepped "out of bounds on his own" while legitimately running towards the ball, and that shouldn't be called illegal participation. I think you'd have to see him looking at the sideline and carefully stepping out of bounds and having to reach or step in a ways to play the ball before you'd call IP.

Regardless, let's hope R25 isn't "interring" anybody!

Last edited by Robert Goodman; Tue Jul 27, 2021 at 12:13pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 27, 2021, 01:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 35
This is not a foul in NCAA. First, there is no such thing as illegal participation. Second, in NCAA itís only illegal for a Team A player to return in bounds after going out during a scrimmage kick play. Because he never returned inbounds, he has not fouled. This is simply a loose ball out of bounds. It will be Team Bís ball at the B-25.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 27, 2021, 02:24pm
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,647
NFHS- Illegal Participation if the ball was inbounds and R25 was out.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 27, 2021, 06:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rockville,MD
Posts: 917
Quote:
Originally Posted by HLin NC View Post
NFHS- Illegal Participation if the ball was inbounds and R25 was out.
The ball is dead, and under NCAA rules, B gets the ball, 1/10 from their own 25. Under NFHS rules, this might be illegal participation. In this case, B would have 1/10 from the 12.5 because the 15-yard penalty will be enforced half the distance.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 01, 2021, 10:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 79
NFHS- Illegal Participation

I may need some help here, but for R25 to commit illegal participation, he must return in-bounds. Since he was OOB, no penalty & ball is dead.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 02, 2021, 10:18am
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,647
9-6-2 No player shall intentionally go out of bounds and b: intentionally touch the ball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First touching/ IW ChickenOfNC Football 18 Fri Sep 21, 2012 04:33pm
First touching mbyron Football 5 Wed Aug 04, 2010 10:14pm
Touching The Rim?? jmaellis Basketball 3 Sat Dec 22, 2007 12:02pm
Touching the Rim fonzzy07 Basketball 3 Sat Jan 20, 2007 01:48am
PSK and first touching..... chris s Football 4 Mon Sep 15, 2003 09:45pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1