The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 11, 2020, 03:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsaucer View Post
Team A has ball on (or inside) team B's 1 yard line. The passer stands close to (or on) the LOS. He attempts to pass into the end zone. If, while his arm moves forward, the ball "breaks the plane" before leaving the passer's hand, is it a TD? Or do we have a legal or illegal forward pass?
NFHS 7-5-1 clearly states, "it is a legal forward pass.....a player of A throws the ball with both feet of the passer in or behind the neutral zone when the ball is released..." If that pass is subsequently "caught" (satisfying NFHS:2-4-1 beyond the opponent's goal line, it is a TD.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 11, 2020, 07:08pm
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,648
Quote:
If, while his arm moves forward, the ball "breaks the plane" before leaving the passer's hand
Fundamental I 8. Possession of a live ball in the opponent’s end zone is always a touchdown.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 22, 2020, 10:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
NCAA: If ANY part of the passer's body is behind the neutral zone, it is a legal forward pass (other things notwithstanding). Sorry I don't have an immediate rule reference. So, there's clearly no foul. Its just a matter of how the wing or covering official rules on the ball in the QB's hand breaking the plane. By the way it is stated, that would be a TD.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 24, 2020, 07:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 70
Yes, it's a TD and the wings better sell it, especially if it falls incomplete.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 31, 2020, 07:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,916
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cliffdweller View Post
Yes, it's a TD and the wings better sell it, especially if it falls incomplete.
How about the old "punch" signal to make instantly clear that's why it was a TD? Or would that make it instantly unclear because nobody can read that signal now?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 01, 2020, 06:30am
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,648
We have a TD signal and an incomplete signal already.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 05, 2020, 04:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 78
Let's delve further into this.

In a 5 man crew who is going to see this, I say no one? Once the wings read pass they are sliding downfield, the U is probably not going to have a good enough view for that call and the R is deep.

7-man is different, wings don't slide downfield, but probably going to be hard to pick up.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 05, 2020, 08:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,916
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIG UMP View Post
Let's delve further into this.

In a 5 man crew who is going to see this, I say no one? Once the wings read pass they are sliding downfield,
In a situation like this, how deep could they possibly slide? How much could they benefit by going any deeper than the goal line? Or is the problem that the wings take their eyes off the ball entirely and watch potential receivers and defenders?

Once the quarterback scrambles, doesn't anybody get in position to tell whether a forward pass is legal?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 07, 2020, 07:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
Coverage on these situations is often a collaboration between the Umpire and Referee.

For an IP thrown from clearly beyond the line, The R is responsible for judging "Intent" on a pass deliberately thrown incomplete to avoid loss of yardage, or thrown into an area without eligible receivers (Wing officials may offer assistance regarding receivers who may have cut the wrong way, fell or otherwise were prevented from following a planned route)

For passes beyond/ behind the NZ, both the R and U have responsibility for breaches of the NZ. the R, following the passer needs to determine the spot form which the pass was thrown, and when necessary carefully beanbag that spot, and continue officiating.

The U usually retreating to the area of the LOS, when determining "pass", to best observe the area of LOS blocking, should also mark the "spot of the pass" with a beanbag, and also continue officiating.

After the play is completed, either/both beanbags should be checked (against the down marker) to determine whether the NZ has been violated. If so, a delayed flag should be thrown.

As always, if more than 1 official is involved with the actual call, they should confer, review and agree on a single decision, BEFORE and signals are given.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Forward pass, does it need to break plane? chymechowder Football 7 Sat Aug 08, 2009 09:05pm
What to do when a fight breaks out? jdccpa Basketball 21 Sun Jan 01, 2006 02:41am
NFL HL breaks his leg gscsj Football 2 Thu Dec 22, 2005 01:41pm
Them's the Breaks rainmaker Basketball 0 Sat Jan 24, 2004 02:26am
Water Breaks Ed Hickland Football 11 Sun Aug 24, 2003 09:49pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1