The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Oct 16, 2003, 08:57am
Official Forum Member

As a coach, I am not sure, even after having re-read the rule book, what the correct call is, so I thought I would pose this question on this board.

1. A has 2 and 10 from B 30.
2. A throws interception to B.
3. B returns the ball to B 23 then fumbles.
4. A recovers.
5. Officials mark the ball ready to play in A possession, but as a 3rd and 3. Rationale provided: down begins with A in possession, down ends with A in possession, line to gain was not acheived, therefore, no new series awarded.

But as I reviewed the Rule book, it seems to me that rule 5-1-3-d specifically applies:
"The team in possession at the end of the down, if there is a change of team possession during the down, unless the penalty is accepted for a foul which occurred before the change of possession."

There were no penalties on the play. It seems very clear to me that a new series should have been awarded...first and 10 for A at the B 23.

As it turned out, this particular call did not cost us the game...but it could have.

Any thoughts on the correct call?
Old Thu Oct 16, 2003, 09:44am
Official Forum Member

You've got it right. Should have been first and ten.
Old Thu Oct 16, 2003, 09:50am
Official Forum Member

It would also be 1st and 10 for NCAA as well. This type of play can catch you off guard as an official and everyone needs to be alert as to what occured. If you see something like that in the future it may just take a coaches conference with the referee and he should realize the mistake and correct it.
Old Thu Oct 16, 2003, 10:16am
Official Forum Member

After change of possession, it will be first and 10 for someone.

Thanks for asking. I like it when coaches get involved in rules discussions. (not on the field)
Old Thu Oct 16, 2003, 10:24am
Official Forum Member