The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 07, 2003, 11:02am
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
I believe the quiz is for NCAA, but comment on the rulings in both:

PLAY: 4th and 9 on B's 41. B23 muffs A8's scrimmage kick on B's 7 and the ball rolls into B's end zone. B23 picks up the ball and starts to run but fumbles the ball while still in B's end zone. B56 recovers on B's 2 and advances to B's 22 where he is downed. During B23's fumble, B55 blocked A74 below the waist on B's 6.

The stated result in the quiz is:
RULING: Safety. B's ball, free kick, on B's 20. B55's foul occurred during a running play that included B23's run. The end of B23's run was in B's end zone. Acceptance of the penalty results in a safety regardless of the spot of B55's foul. If B23 was tackled in B's end zone (no fumble), then the basic enforcement spot would be B's 20 and the 15-yard penalty would be enforced from the spot of the foul, B's 6.

This feels wrong to me. Isn't it B's ball on the 10?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 07, 2003, 11:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 379
Quote:
Originally posted by mbcrowder
I believe the quiz is for NCAA, but comment on the rulings in both:

PLAY: 4th and 9 on B's 41. B23 muffs A8's scrimmage kick on B's 7 and the ball rolls into B's end zone.
Stop right there for NF. Touchback.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 07, 2003, 11:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 97
Under NCAA, the ruling is correct.

Under NFHS, the ball would become dead as soon as the ball was in the EZ. Therefore, touchback. If the B foul occurred during the loose ball, you would have PSK. Basic spot would be the 20, HOWEVER, since the foul occured at the 6, behind the basic spot, the foul would penalties from the 6, taking the ball to the 3. 1st and 10 for B.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1