The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 05, 2003, 02:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2
I just came home from the BYU vs. SDSU game and noticed something that the BYU qb was doing on every play and was wondering the legality of it.

On every snap from center, the BYU qb would take a step back from center with his right foot a half count before the ball was being snapped to him. I'm not talking about signaling the receiver to go in motion. He would take the step back in order to get a jump on his backpeddle. Is this not a false start?!? It seems to me that I've seen it called on a qb when he's done the same thing out of the shotgun formation.

Thanks for any help.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 05, 2003, 08:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,612
I'm not calling it. IMHO, it's too technical and too petty to call.

He's moving backwards. It's not a case where he's mistakenly jumped the count. It's the same motion each time.

No, nothing from me.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 05, 2003, 08:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 945
You might call this the "Dan Marino" rule. You might have a hard time finding an official to call this especially at the college or NFL level.

Some may call this at the high school level but we don't see it very often and would call it even less.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 06, 2003, 10:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 44
Wink

the next team may want to pick up on this to gain an advantage at the moment before the snap. Just key the QB's foot. Seems the opponents of the Detroit Lions saw that when Barry Sanders was getting the ball he'd have his mouthpiece in. No mouthpiece meant no Barry.
__________________
God is the only One Who always gets the right call
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 06, 2003, 12:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 132
3 general guidelines to go by when considering making a call is

1) Does it affect the play?
2) Does it affect the players safety?
3) Does it give unfair advantage?

I don't think that I would call that due to the fact as seanireland pointed out, that if anything, it would put the offense at a disadvantage. SDSU should've keyed in on that and the fool quarterback needs to work on that before the next game. That's a little league mistake from that quarterback if you ask me. And growing up in Utah as a BYU fan, that just adds to my disappointment again this season.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 06, 2003, 02:39pm
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
I'd only flag it if I thought he was doing it to draw the defense offsides. Doesn't sound like that's the case, especially if he was consistent about it. A back (including the QB) can go into motion backward before the snap legally. So unless he's "simulating the snap", I'd call this legal.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 06, 2003, 05:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 132
That's a good point as well.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1