The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 28, 2003, 03:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 17
NCAA college rules.

A LB blitzes and has a clear shot at the QB. He hits the QB in the chest with his helmit on first contact. Is this a penalty?

The player doesn't seem to be spearing the QB with his helmit, in that, the player doesn't seem to be exaggerating his movement with his head extended forward. It appears to be a normal tackling motion, but first contact is helmit to QB chest.

Thank You in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 28, 2003, 03:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 45
It's helmet, not helmit.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 28, 2003, 05:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
You have to see it to say for sure but the fact that the helmet hits first is not enough in itself to justify flagging. If the helmet is used to punish the player, it should be flagged.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1