The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Sep 23, 2003, 10:15am
Official Forum Member

I read Mike Sears topic and mine is kind of similar.

I am in my 2nd year and landed a big varsity game. One of the teams is an annual 5A state contender. My WH is very experienced but the rest of the crew was 5 years and less of experience.

To start the game our BJ had an inadvertant whistle on the kickoff return. It just so happened there was a fumble and the home team recovered it. The home team was the kicking team. Well we had to kick off again. This basically set the tone for the entire game for the coach. He was in my ear the entire game. Asking me what games we have worked and in a round about way how horrible he thought we were. If I had more experience I probably would have flagged him but I was unsure. I know he had a right to be mad but after a while it got really old. Most of the things I was getting reamed for were not even my calls. I kept telling him I will find out coach, but he never liked my answers. What was amazing is that he kept telling me he has never seen so many flags thrown. Yet his next tirade was how we have been missing calls. I felt like saying coach if we are missing all these calls, don't you think the one's we are flagging must be correct? I cannot wait to watch the tape. This defintely was a learning experience for me.

How would you handle this type of situation?
Old Tue Sep 23, 2003, 10:37am
Official Forum Member

don't put up with it...at some point mention that you have heard enough...but keep this in mind, if you mention that then be prepared to back it up with a flag if it doesn't stop...some coaches, if they find out that they have a new guy working, will see how far they can push..so you need to set boundaries and stick to them...
Old Tue Sep 23, 2003, 12:26pm
Do not give a damn!!

Thumbs up Officiating 101.