The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 04, 2015, 12:02am
I drank what?
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 1,085
Send a message via MSN to w_sohl
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cliffdweller View Post
Apparently in FED this is an immediate dead ball on a try and a FG.
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 04, 2015, 10:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by w_sohl View Post
Apparently in FED this is an immediate dead ball on a try and a FG.
That is not correct.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 04, 2015, 11:17am
I drank what?
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 1,085
Send a message via MSN to w_sohl
Quote:
Originally Posted by SC Official View Post
That is not correct.
That's what I thought, but according to my white hat, he found it in the rule and case books. I haven't looked yet myself...
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 05, 2015, 08:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: West Bend, WI
Posts: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by w_sohl View Post
That's what I thought, but according to my white hat, he found it in the rule and case books. I haven't looked yet myself...
Aware that we are discussing PAT here, but same rules should apply regarding the EZ and a scrimmage kick. I think your white hat may be overthinking this one, but I'm curious as to the case book and rule definitions he found. I have almost all in electronic format going back to 2008 and I can't find one to support his logic. But pass along if it's found. Whether it hit umpire or B55, still should be successful PAT.

BLOCKING KICK FROM CROSSBAR
*6.3.1 SITUATION B: During a field-goal attempt, R1, who is in the end zone,
leaps up and blocks the ball away from the crossbar. RULING: Touchback. The
touching by R1 in the end zone causes the ball to become dead, unless the ball
caroms through the goal, thus scoring a field goal.
This is not illegal batting, as the touching caused the kick to fail. (4-2-2d(2); 6-3-1b)
__________________
"Assumption is the mother of all screw-ups...."

Last edited by Canned Heat; Mon Oct 05, 2015 at 09:01am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Head to Head contact on pass in End Zone Robert E. Harrison Football 30 Wed Sep 11, 2013 07:33pm
Florida head coach accuses umpires of cheating his team at WCWS UmpireErnie Softball 49 Mon Jun 07, 2010 07:34am
over my head? CLH Basketball 4 Thu Nov 15, 2007 01:12pm
Umpires complaining about other umpires tcannizzo Softball 14 Sat Nov 19, 2005 10:00am
Official Head-to-Head Rule superhornet Softball 10 Sat Aug 06, 2005 10:50am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1