The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Sep 11, 2003, 05:37pm
Official Forum Member

I am in my first year of officiating and about ready to don the knickers for the first time this weekend. Any advice? Even the most basic advice will be appreciated (e.g., what do you put on first, knickers or socks; how high do you wear them; do you wear anything in particular under the knickers or socks, etc...).
Old Thu Sep 11, 2003, 06:26pm
Official Forum Member

First of all- Good Luck!

To start, when I pack my bag here is what I do to make sure that I don't forget anything. I lay it all out on my bed. Socks (football & athletic one that I wear under the FB ones, Knickers, Mcdaniels compression shorts, T Shirt, Ref shirt, belt, hat and shoes. I then make sure that I have my other ref items (flags, cards, bean bags, down markers, etc)
I keep these in their own dope kit for travel. Towel(s) and dope kit. This helps to make

Now to answer the questions, I put on my socks first then the knickers. I then fold the socks over the bottom of the knickers. I wear then 2/3 to 3/4 of the way up my leg.
Ask some of your partners to see if they have other ideas.

The most important thing it to have fun.

Old Thu Sep 11, 2003, 07:39pm
Official Forum Member

What do you wear under the knickers? I saw you listed compression shorts. I assume those are like spandex. Are they white???
Old Thu Sep 11, 2003, 07:49pm
Official Forum Member

Yep, like spandex and dang sure better be white (or as close as your wife can get them to white after you have worn them a few times). If they are thick enough they will cover the shirt tail which you tcuk insode them. That way your stripes do not show through your pants. Gives you a much neater appearance.