The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 08, 2015, 02:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Someone please provide a citation from the NFHS RULES stating that 2e is illegal.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 08, 2015, 03:15pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Someone please provide a citation from the NFHS RULES stating that 2e is illegal.
Like anything else, wouldn't it depend on the contact? One player reaching/leaning into the adjoining space, if not addressed it may escalate to the point where the arm or jersey is grabbed before or simultaneously with the release.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 08, 2015, 03:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Someone please provide a citation from the NFHS RULES stating that 2e is illegal.
8-4-g. not more than one player can occupy lane space. if two players are touching it is likely one of them is in the other space.

AND, after thinking about it for few seconds..they are talking about the second slot moving in early or the first slot doing same. those are violations that need to be enforced.

Last edited by BigCat; Mon Jun 08, 2015 at 03:41pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 08, 2015, 03:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
8-4-g. not more than one player can occupy lane space. if two players are touching it is likely one of them is in the other space.

AND, after thinking about it for few seconds..they are talking about the second slot moving in early or the first slot doing same. those are violations that need to be enforced.
Nevada's right. Occupying a space and making contact with an opponent are two different things. Other than positioning the lane space restrictions are 9-1-3d and 9-1-3g. Neither of those mentions anything about making contact with an opponent. If there's illegal contact, call a foul.


Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Like anything else, wouldn't it depend on the contact? One player reaching/leaning into the adjoining space, if not addressed it may escalate to the point where the arm or jersey is grabbed before or simultaneously with the release.
And if that happens, call the foul. They'll stop.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 08, 2015, 04:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
Nevada's right. Occupying a space and making contact with an opponent are two different things. Other than positioning the lane space restrictions are 9-1-3d and 9-1-3g. Neither of those mentions anything about making contact with an opponent. If there's illegal contact, call a foul.




And if that happens, call the foul. They'll stop.
So I can be in the first slot and lift my right leg and lay it across your left leg or place my right arm against your chest? I disagree. a player has a space. verticality applies. if a player lifts an arm or leg into the other space (even if not touching ground) im going to tell them immediately to knock it off. if they dont i will call the violation. (or put delayed violation sign out etc. )

Again, i think they are after the players going all in early as opposed to guys in the spaces making a bit of contact with hands arms...

Last edited by BigCat; Mon Jun 08, 2015 at 04:38pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 08, 2015, 05:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
So I can be in the first slot and lift my right leg and lay it across your left leg or place my right arm against your chest? I disagree. a player has a space. verticality applies. if a player lifts an arm or leg into the other space (even if not touching ground) im going to tell them immediately to knock it off. if they dont i will call the violation. (or put delayed violation sign out etc. )

Again, i think they are after the players going all in early as opposed to guys in the spaces making a bit of contact with hands arms...
1. The first line under Verticality in NF 4-45 says "Verticality applies to a legal position." By rule there is (generally) nothing illegal about just touching someone - during a FT or otherwise.

2. The situation you describe of "lift(ing) my right leg and lay(ing) it across your left leg)" is already a violation under 9-1-3g because a player would have to move their right foot beyond the edge of their lane space. So by all means, call the violation.

3. A player moving their arm into someone else's lane space is not a violation by rule. If there's enough contact it may be a foul. If that's the case, call the foul.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 09, 2015, 11:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
1. The first line under Verticality in NF 4-45 says "Verticality applies to a legal position." By rule there is (generally) nothing illegal about just touching someone - during a FT or otherwise.

2. The situation you describe of "lift(ing) my right leg and lay(ing) it across your left leg)" is already a violation under 9-1-3g because a player would have to move their right foot beyond the edge of their lane space. So by all means, call the violation.

3. A player moving their arm into someone else's lane space is not a violation by rule. If there's enough contact it may be a foul. If that's the case, call the foul.
you are right. the arm isn't a violation. my screw up.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 09, 2015, 03:11pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Tunnel Vision ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
... the arm isn't a violation.
Don't beat yourself up.

Back when I served on our local board's floor training committee, we had a highly ranked, veteran, trainer who told the rookies that it was a violation for a player, on the lane line, to put an arm through the plane of the lane line marks. It took everything in my power to convince him that he was wrong. He didn't go down easy, he went down kicking, and screaming, but I eventually convinced him that he was wrong.

Sometimes officials just develop these mental blocks. After all, there are a lot of rules, and some of them keep changing all the time.

Now? Where are my car keys?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 08, 2015, 07:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
So I can be in the first slot and lift my right leg and lay it across your left leg or place my right arm against your chest? I disagree. a player has a space. verticality applies. if a player lifts an arm or leg into the other space (even if not touching ground) im going to tell them immediately to knock it off. if they dont i will call the violation. (or put delayed violation sign out etc. ).
Excuse me, but what violation are you calling when a player sticks his arm into the neighboring lane space (either with or without contact)?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 08, 2015, 07:50pm
Statistician/Ref Hybrid
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
{C}all the foul. They'll stop.
I had this happen in a MS-G game almost two years ago. The jostling contact between A1 & B1 was enough enough in my judgment to call a double foul. The fans didn't like it, the coaches seemed confused, but my partner said it was a good call.
__________________
"Be kind whenever possible. It is always possible." – Dalai Lama

The center of attention as the lead & trail. – me
Games officiated: 525 Basketball · 76 Softball · 16 Baseball

Last edited by Stat-Man; Mon Jun 08, 2015 at 07:51pm. Reason: revised for clarity
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 08, 2015, 07:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
8-4-g. not more than one player can occupy lane space. if two players are touching it is likely one of them is in the other space.

AND, after thinking about it for few seconds..they are talking about the second slot moving in early or the first slot doing same. those are violations that need to be enforced.
You are speaking of calling a violation. POE #2 is instructing officials to call fouls when the listed items occur. Vastly different and my contention is that 2e cannot be justified by the rules. No where within them is a simple touch of an opponent in a neighboring FT lane space stated to be a foul.
A POE during a previous season made the same comment and I wrote then that it was not accurate. This is nothing more than someone attempting to create a ruling through their editorial position or task of crafting the language for the POEs.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 08, 2015, 07:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
You are speaking of calling a violation. POE #2 is instructing officials to call fouls when the listed items occur. Vastly different and my contention is that 2e cannot be justified by the rules. No where within them is a simple touch of an opponent in a neighboring FT lane space stated to be a foul.
A POE during a previous season made the same comment and I wrote then that it was not accurate. This is nothing more than someone attempting to create a ruling through their editorial position or task of crafting the language for the POEs.
Poe 1, clearly is calling for fouls. Poe 2 says "Illegal activity" includes....Not necessarily requiring foul call. They could have said again in 2 that it is a foul....
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 08, 2015, 08:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
Poe 1, clearly is calling for fouls. Poe 2 says "Illegal activity" includes....Not necessarily requiring foul call. They could have said again in 2 that it is a foul....
1. The items listed in 2a through 2d all clearly pertain to fouls not violations, yet you contend that e is different. I don't agree.

2. The text of 2e begins "Contact between players..." Please name one single example of contact between players resulting in a violation. (Or you can just admit that you are wrong.)
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 08, 2015, 08:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
1. The items listed in 2a through 2d all clearly pertain to fouls not violations, yet you contend that e is different. I don't agree.

2. The text of 2e begins "Contact between players..." Please name one single example of contact between players resulting in a violation. (Or you can just admit that you are wrong.)
law school 101. number 1 specifically says the following are "fouls." POE 2 say the following are "illegal activity." i agree a -d are fouls. e, contact between players in a lane space before free thrower releases ball --can be violation or foul.

consider that in the context of what we see happening in high school now---second lane spot may move in early and shove first under. first may hit second early to keep him from pushing him under.

the poe is telling you to watch for "illegal activity" in that situation. doesnt mean you have to call a foul. get the person who goes in early.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 08, 2015, 09:50pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
It says properly enforced and penalized. Which means the enforcement could be a violation or a foul, whichever one applies to the situation. The way I see 2E, is that in those times that a player reaches across the vertical edge of his lane boundary into the opponents lane spot and makes contact, it should be a violation. By getting this when it happens, it will stop any further activity once the shot goes up.

Last edited by OKREF; Mon Jun 08, 2015 at 09:53pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS Wrestling Points of Emphasis (2014-2015) APG Wrestling 0 Tue Nov 18, 2014 06:40am
NBA Points of Emphasis dsavitzky Basketball 2 Tue Apr 01, 2014 02:32am
NFHS Points of Emphasis Grail Basketball 18 Tue May 30, 2006 06:19pm
RE: NFHS 2005 Points Of Emphasis whiskers_ump Softball 12 Wed Oct 06, 2004 01:04pm
NFHS Points of Emphasis - 2004 VaASAump Football 7 Mon Mar 29, 2004 03:58pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1