The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 12, 2003, 01:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally posted by Damian
Player A1 is dribbling down the court. B1 tries to reach over and swat the ball. He misses and fouls. A1 pushes B1 down just after the initial contact as I am blowing the whistle. Nother flagrant or really intentional. Just a push to seperate them a bit. I was already blowing the whistle on the first contact. B1 goes to the ground as a result of the push and appeared hurt, so I had to call a false double.

This is when B1's dad came on the court and demanded that we "do something". I did. B1's dad was removed from the court. There was under 1 minute left in the game and A team had a good lead, so I just had the security officer escort off of the playing area.
Well, sadly you botched the call. Contact after the ball is dead is ignored if it isn't intentional or flagrant. So you should have only called the first foul. However, if you feel the push warrants a foul, the proper way to go is with an intentional technical foul. In that case you would have a false double foul.
Or you could make it simple and do what Tony suggested, call a double personal foul since the opponents committed fouls at approximately the same time.

Thumbs up on tossing the dad out, though!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1