![]() |
Quote:
[/B][/QUOTE]That's my point. We don't know what Damian actually called the 2nd foul-personal or a T. His post never said.How can anyone say that he botched a call without having that information? If he called it a T,then he didn't botch the call. |
Quote:
Damian did say "Nother flagrant or really intentional." If contact during a dead ball is not flagrant or intentional, it should be ignored. If it is flagrant or intentional, it becomes a technical foul. If he called a personal, it was incorrect since it was during a dead ball. If he called a technical, it was incorrect because it was neither flagrant nor intentional. |
Quote:
We judge the time lapse between the two acts: <LI>very short time (<I>pure judgement</I>) ---> Double foul <li>a little longer than a very short time (<I>pure judgement</I>) ---> Technical foul Either way the offensive player should be punished if the contact was, in fact, sufficient. mick |
Quote:
If contact during a dead ball is not flagrant or intentional, it should be ignored. If it is flagrant or intentional, it becomes a technical foul. If he called a personal, it was incorrect since it was during a dead ball. If he called a technical, it was incorrect because it was neither flagrant nor intentional. [/B][/QUOTE]You're right that he shouldn't call a technical foul under the "contact" language in R10-3-9. However,that doesn't mean that he can't call a technical foul in this instance under the provisions of R10-3-8 instead. If Damian felt that A1 committed "an unsporting act",then he has the backing of this rule to call the T. R10-3-8 was specifically written this way("not limited to...") to give an official the power to call a T for any act that he feels is unsporting,and not necessarily then have to label that foul "flagrant or intentional". |
Quote:
We judge the time lapse between the two acts: <LI>very short time (<I>pure judgement</I>) ---> Double foul <li>a little longer than a very short time (<I>pure judgement</I>) ---> Technical foul [/B][/QUOTE]Agree with that,mick,but just a quick point,more for the new officials. The time lapse doesn't mean that the 2nd foul HAS to be a technical foul.You can still have a personal foul with the time lapse,to then constitute part of the false double foul. The most common play illustrating a false double foul with 2 personals is A1 shooting a foul shot,and a teammate committing a foul during that FT. The teammate's foul is a personal foul because the ball was alive,but we now have a false double foul because the second foul was committed before the clock started following the first foul. [Edited by Jurassic Referee on Sep 12th, 2003 at 02:18 PM] |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Sounds like that to me also, Back In The Saddle. B hacks A; A pushes B <font color = Green> <B>" Player A1 is dribbling down the court. B1 tries to reach over and swat the ball. He misses and fouls. A1 pushes B1 down just after the initial contact...."</font></B> If B hacks A, and A reflexively pushes B back, ---> double personal foul. If B hacks A, and A <u>thinks/pauses</u> and then pushes B back ---> personal on B, technical on A Sometimes, if B hacks A, and A steps toward, and makes a little contact on, B ---> "Take it easy fellas." mick |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Always gets 'em! :) |
Quote:
<HR> Now I can't wait to git a team A. ;) |
Quote:
|
British spelling
Unless you are from England, please spell judgment the American way.
|
English spelling
Quote:
The implication is that I may use "judgment <I>or</I> judgement" to spell judgment, or judgement, and I need not be from England. Please cite your source of the "American way". :rolleyes: mick |
Re: English spelling
Quote:
|
Re: English spelling
Quote:
Honestly, I never knew "judgement" was acceptable. I gotta go do a little checking. . . |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:19am. |