The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 09, 2003, 02:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by mdray
so if after a made basket by B, A1 is OOB and he/she throws a "bounce pass" to A2 who is inbounds, but the bounce pass contacts the court OOB before A2 catches it inbounds....is this legit?
(If this were a *designated spot* throw, this would be illegal I believe.)
In both cases, what you describe is a throw-in violation. If the ball is being inbounded, whether from a designated spot or after a made basket, it must be thrown directly into the court -- that is, it may NOT touch anything OOB before being touched inbounds.

The only time it's legal for the ball to touch OOB during a throw-in is when it's NOT being inbounded -- either dribbled by the inbounder or passed along the endline after a made or awarded basket.

__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1