The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Bounce pass on throw-in (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/9974-bounce-pass-throw.html)

klancie Tue Sep 09, 2003 09:42am

After a made basket by Team B, A1 prepares to make the throw-in. A2 steps out-of-bounds to receive a pass. A1 makes a bounce pass to A2. Is this a violation? Please include a rule citation. Thanks!

BktBallRef Tue Sep 09, 2003 09:53am

No, it's not a violation. There's no rule against it. If there's not a rule against, it's legal.

ChuckElias Tue Sep 09, 2003 09:58am

Legal, klancie.

The relevant rules are 7-6 and 7-5-7. 7-5-7 allows for the throw-in to be made from anywhere along the endling following a made or awarded basket. Nowhere in 7-5-7 does it say that the ball may not be bounced.

7-6-1 does say that the ball must enter the court directly (i.e., without touching OOB first), but then explicitly removes this requirement when 7-5-7 applies.

Verdict is: it's legal.

ChuckElias Tue Sep 09, 2003 09:59am

Doggone it, Tony.

firedoc Tue Sep 09, 2003 10:01am

It is legal UNLESS the ball bounces first in the out of bounds area. In that case it would be a violation and possession would go to the opponents for a throw-in at the spot nearest the violation.

Hawks Coach Tue Sep 09, 2003 10:09am

Quote:

Originally posted by firedoc
It is legal UNLESS the ball bounces first in the out of bounds area. In that case it would be a violation and possession would go to the opponents for a throw-in at the spot nearest the violation.
firedoc
You are misreading the scenario or you got it backwards. We are talking about after a basket and A1 and A2 are both OOB, ball going from A1 to A2 and bouncing OOB while on the way there. THAT is legal.

With A1 and A2 OOB and exchanging the ball after a made shot, if the ball bounced inbounds and spun back OOB or A2 reached out and grabbed it, then that play would be illegal. So it is only legal if the ball stays OOB.

Jerry Blum Tue Sep 09, 2003 12:44pm

Klancie
 
Where in Missouri are you?

Damian Tue Sep 09, 2003 01:56pm

Many years ago it was illegal, but now it isn't
 
Bank in the 70's, the pass along the endline was fine. But, the bounce pass from the original throw in hitting out of bounds was considered illegal. This was changed a long time ago, but I do remember a call in a college game in the early 70's where it was a violation.

mdray Tue Sep 09, 2003 02:12pm

so if after a made basket by B, A1 is OOB and he/she throws a "bounce pass" to A2 who is inbounds, but the bounce pass contacts the court OOB before A2 catches it inbounds....is this legit?
(If this were a *designated spot* throw, this would be illegal I believe.)

Jurassic Referee Tue Sep 09, 2003 02:12pm

Re: Many years ago it was illegal, but now it isn't
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Damian
Bank in the 70's, the pass along the endline was fine. But, the bounce pass from the original throw in hitting out of bounds was considered illegal. This was changed a long time ago, but I do remember a call in a college game in the early 70's where it was a violation.
Are you sure? I was refereeing then,and I have no memory of that play ever being illegal-in either the NFHS or NCAA rulesets.Going back to when I started in 1959,I don't think that this rule has changed at all.

Jurassic Referee Tue Sep 09, 2003 02:16pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mdray
so if after a made basket by B, A1 is OOB and he/she throws a "bounce pass" to A2 who is inbounds, but the bounce pass contacts the court OOB before A2 catches it inbounds....is this legit?
(If this were a *designated spot* throw, this would be illegal I believe.)

Violation for failing to throw the ball directly in bounds,as per R9-2-2. Doesn't matter if it is a spot throw-in or not. The difference in the 2 plays is that one is a throw-in and the other one is a pass between the 2 players on the end line OOB,and the rules therefore cover them differently..

ChuckElias Tue Sep 09, 2003 02:18pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mdray
so if after a made basket by B, A1 is OOB and he/she throws a "bounce pass" to A2 who is inbounds, but the bounce pass contacts the court OOB before A2 catches it inbounds....is this legit?
(If this were a *designated spot* throw, this would be illegal I believe.)

In both cases, what you describe is a throw-in violation. If the ball is being inbounded, whether from a designated spot or after a made basket, it must be thrown directly into the court -- that is, it may NOT touch anything OOB before being touched inbounds.

The only time it's legal for the ball to touch OOB during a throw-in is when it's NOT being inbounded -- either dribbled by the inbounder or passed along the endline after a made or awarded basket.


ChuckElias Tue Sep 09, 2003 02:18pm

Doggonit, JR!

Dan_ref Tue Sep 09, 2003 02:23pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mdray
so if after a made basket by B, A1 is OOB and he/she throws a "bounce pass" to A2 who is inbounds, but the bounce pass contacts the court OOB before A2 catches it inbounds....is this legit?

No, this is illegal. The case we were originally discussing concerns what a team is allowed to do after a made or awarded basket. Even though your play comes after a made basket the inbounding team still must throw the ball directly onto the court on the inbounding pass - which does not include all the allowed foolishness such as running the endline, players jumping out & back in , etc. Since A2 is inbounds his actions do not fall under what is allowed after a made/awarded basket. Got it?


Dan_ref Tue Sep 09, 2003 02:24pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Doggonit, JR!
sigh...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1