
Mon Mar 30, 2015, 08:25pm
|
Courageous When Prudent
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,951
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by hbk314
From what I can gather here, there doesn't seem to be any rule or standard for how much time to take off in this situation, so rather than make a guess in the form of tenths of a second, they leave it as is. That doesn't make much sense either, but if there were a standard, I'm sure they would have gone with it.
|
The case book says that something needs to come off: In (c), the official may put the correct time on the clock, but must make some allowance for the touching by A1 – likely 10ths of a second, if displayed. The ball is put in play nearest to where it was located when the stoppage occurred to correct the timing mistake. A “do over” is not permitted in (c), since the throw-in had ended. (4-36; 5-10-1)
So, to leave it as is, is not acceptable.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
|