![]() |
I think the reactions following the event allayed any chance of a T being called (hmm is allayed used right there? :rolleyes:)
But what if the EW player had gotten up and in the GT player's face. The cause of that incident would have been the initial contact. You know what would have happened if that was the case? Refs would go to the replay and I can assure you a Tech would be called on the GT player. If I'm playing a game, or in any games I ref, if someone does what the Georgetown player did, there is likely going to be an argument and heated tempers. In this case there wasn't but I still can't see how you don't call a T here. I'm just totally miffed why some of you think what the refs is ok. the Georgetown player was wrong and there should have been a whistle for it. Preventive officiating. Yes, an ejection would have been too much. |
FYI...they did go to replay...and came to the conclusion of no T.
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Also, the ability to keep his cool, like the player involved, is probably of the intangibles that got him a D1 scholarship. |
I just want to point out that what is excessive contact (which is the part of the intentional rule we're probably using in calling a T) during a live ball is different than what is excessive during a dead ball. i don't think you can use the mindframe of "well if it wasn't an intentional personal foul, then it won't be be technical foul." What is excessive depends on context of when the contact occurs.
Example...live ball and I swipe down hard on the arm of the dribbler in an attempt to steal the ball. Foul I do the same thing after the ball is CLEARLY dead...five seconds after a whistle...that's probably going to get a T 9/10 times. As to the video...I can live w/o there being a T. |
Quote:
Furthermore, my opinion is that you are incorrect. The standard is the same by rule. |
Quote:
So, you do it your way, and others will do it their way. |
Quote:
Watch any college game where there's a dead ball contact T...I guarantee you that a good percentage of those plays, the contact, if it would have occurred during a live ball would NOT be called a FF1...but they would be backed up by rule and their supervisors cause the contact was excessive for the situation...even if it wouldn't be for a live ball. |
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
Please cite the text of the rule. What terminology does the rule use for the the dead ball contact standard? We need to officiate according to the rules, not what you think is appropriate. We had this same discussion a few weeks ago. You were wrong by rule the and still are now. There is no rule extant instructing the officials to judge contact one second after the ball becomes dead differently from contact five or ten seconds later. The rule is written to cover ALL dead ball contact without regard to the timeframe. |
Quote:
1. Causing excessive contact with an opponent; 2. Contact that is not a legitimate attempt to play the ball or player, specifically designed to stop or keep the clock from starting; 3. Pushing or holding a player from behind to prevent a score; 4. Fouling a player clearly away from the ball who is not directly involved with the play, specifically designed to stop or keep the clock from starting; and 5. Contact with a player making a throw-in. 6. Illegal contact caused by swinging of an elbow which is deemed excessive or unnecessary but does not rise to the level of a flagrant 2 personal foul (see Rule 4-18.7) e. Contact dead ball technical foul. A contact dead ball technical foul occurs when the ball is dead and involves contact that is unnecessary, unacceptable and excessive, but does not rise to the level of a flagrant 2 contact technical foul. Next subject... |
Quote:
But then we have to ask what is intentional or flagrant. For the most part, this is going to deal with excessive contact during a dead ball. We almost never officiate in absolutes...what is excessive in one situation would be common foul in another. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23pm. |