The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Eastern Washington v Georgetown (Video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99551-eastern-washington-v-georgetown-video.html)

SCalScoreKeeper Thu Mar 19, 2015 10:30pm

Eastern Washington v Georgetown (Video)
 
Can someone please pull the smack across the face of an Eastern Washington player from Georgetown at approximately 4:50 in the 1st half?

OKREF Thu Mar 19, 2015 10:33pm

Can't believe it wasn't at least a FF1. However the ball was dead so that may have something to do with it. Not a NCAA rules guy.

mutantducky Thu Mar 19, 2015 10:34pm

are you talking about the incident after the travel?

That was shocking. What were the refs thinking? We were debating whether or not that could be an ejection, and they don't call anything. I'm totally confused. They can replay that. I'm sorry. But if they could look at the replay and didn't call anything, then they should not be doing another game in the tournament.
Would it be a flagrant technical?

SCalScoreKeeper Thu Mar 19, 2015 10:39pm

Yes I am mutantducky-I am shocked too that 3 NCAA tournament caliber officials decided not to call that at least a flagrant 1.Is there any rules justification for a flagrant 2 here?

OKREF Thu Mar 19, 2015 10:42pm

What's the rule on dead ball contact in NCAA? I sure thought it was an intentional swing.

Nevadaref Thu Mar 19, 2015 10:50pm

From my seats this appeared to be the case:

The Georgetown player was excited after the travel and made a celebratory gesture which happened to make contact with the opponent as he got up. It was completely unintentional and the two covering officials understood that.

They informed the EWU coach of what they saw BEFORE going to the monitor and made no call after the review.

OKREF Thu Mar 19, 2015 10:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 958323)
From my seats this appeared to be the case:

The Georgetown player was excited after the travel and made a celebratory gesture which happened to make contact with the opponent as he got up. It was completely unintentional and the two covering officials understood that.

They informed the EWU coach of what they saw BEFORE going to the monitor and made no call after the review.

I can see that. Looks like he was going to hit his own chest. Really close though.

SC Official Thu Mar 19, 2015 10:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 958323)
From my seats this appeared to be the case:

The Georgetown player was excited after the travel and made a celebratory gesture which happened to make contact with the opponent as he got up. It was completely unintentional and the two covering officials understood that.

They informed the EWU coach of what they saw BEFORE going to the monitor and made no call after the review.

Hopefully this is the case. If not, that's a really bad miss. A lesson on dead-ball officiating, regardless. My first thought was it should have been a contact dead ball technical.

It has never made sense to me why some officials call traveling and then turn away, walking down the court while they are signaling.

SCalScoreKeeper Thu Mar 19, 2015 10:57pm

I'd like to see it again but looking at it live it certainly looked intentional.

mutantducky Fri Mar 20, 2015 01:44am

I saw the replay several times. For NFHS at least it would be a technical and some refs would have ejected him. I was just totally miffed by the no-call. Reggie Miller was against an ejection but even he thought something should be called.


btw off-topic, but the number of ads is killing. I'm kind of skipping a lot of the games. I also think there is some conspiracy that despite there being 3 games going on at once, they all seem to go to break at the same time....:mad:
There has to be 20-30 minutes more ads than there used to be.

APG Fri Mar 20, 2015 07:11am

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/JKExJnusuCI" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Raymond Fri Mar 20, 2015 08:15am

First, I like for the Trail to keep his eyes on the players while giving his traveling signal.

That said, I have nothing on this play except a bunch of clumsiness.

BryanV21 Fri Mar 20, 2015 09:55am

I don't believe the G'town player intended to hit the EW player, it was just a product of his excitement. Unless something happened before that would make you believe the action was intentional, I have nothing. Seeing the EW player's reaction after getting up and acknowledging the G'town player makes me think the call was correct too.

Rob1968 Fri Mar 20, 2015 10:02am

So, because the ball is dead - the travel call having come previous to the slap in the face - that the contact was not considered to rise to the level of intentional or flagrant, it is no-called?

If that is the case, what if the same contact happened during a live ball situation? It seems to me, that with the emphasis on contact above the shoulders, then such contact would be ruled a common foul. Thoughts?

BryanV21 Fri Mar 20, 2015 10:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rob1968 (Post 958371)
So, because the ball is dead - the travel call having come previous to the slap in the face - that the contact was not considered to rise to the level of intentional or flagrant, it is no-called?

If that is the case, what if the same contact happened during a live ball situation? It seems to me, that with the emphasis on contact above the shoulders, then such contact would be ruled a common foul. Thoughts?

The non-fighting reaction is a way to show that the previous call was correct, not that it led to the call or non-call. If the EW player had gotten up and was ready to retaliate with a slap or hit of his own, then I'd look again and see if I'd missed something that happened earlier.

Again, I'm not saying the lack of reaction leads to the call, but using that helps to see if the previous call was correct or not.

BTW... what slap to the face? The G'town player hit the EW player in the chest.

Oh, and I'm a Syracuse fan, and do not like G'town.

Raymond Fri Mar 20, 2015 10:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 958374)
...

BTW... what slap to the face? The G'town player hit the EW player in the chest.

...

I was wondering the same thing.

Nevadaref Fri Mar 20, 2015 10:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 958374)
Oh, and I'm a Syracuse fan, and do not like G'town.

Now I finally understand what's wrong with you! ;)

bballref3966 Fri Mar 20, 2015 10:32am

Looks to be the right call despite what it looked like at first glance and what the commentators were ranting about.

The takeaway from this is to not turn away from the players while signaling. I don't understand the logic behind walking to the other end while signaling.

Camron Rust Fri Mar 20, 2015 11:37am

Agree...nothing to call during the dead ball. If it had been a live ball, it would have been a common foul.

mutantducky Fri Mar 20, 2015 11:58am

there is a further video with the EW player pointing on the ground, basically going WTF was that for. The Georgetown player should have been T'd up there. That was an awful miss call by the refs. Sure maybe the excitement got the better of him. But he made contact with the EW player after the whistle in an aggressive fashion. You can't just let something like that go as the commentators were saying it could lead to trouble/retaliation later in the game. On the TV side the initial debate was about whether or not he could be ejected but they settled on flagrant foul 1. No one expected a no-call here. I do agree the reaction after with the players greeting each other probably helped but I think the refs should have looked at this more carefully.

Nevadaref Fri Mar 20, 2015 12:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 958423)
there is a further video with the EW player pointing on the ground, basically going WTF was that for. The Georgetown player should have been T'd up there. That was an awful miss call by the refs. Sure maybe the excitement got the better of him. But he made contact with the EW player after the whistle in an aggressive fashion. You can't just let something like that go as the commentators were saying it could lead to trouble/retaliation later in the game. On the TV side the initial debate was about whether or not he could be ejected but they settled on flagrant foul 1. No one expected a no-call here. I do agree the reaction after with the players greeting each other probably helped but I think the refs should have looked at this more carefully.

They did look at this more carefully. They went to the monitor and reviewed the play. After doing that, they still decided that the action didn't warrant a technical foul.

constable Fri Mar 20, 2015 12:33pm

I've got nothing.

Adam Fri Mar 20, 2015 12:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 958323)
From my seats this appeared to be the case:

The Georgetown player was excited after the travel and made a celebratory gesture which happened to make contact with the opponent as he got up. It was completely unintentional and the two covering officials understood that.

They informed the EWU coach of what they saw BEFORE going to the monitor and made no call after the review.

This is what I saw on replay.

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 958331)
I saw the replay several times. For NFHS at least it would be a technical and some refs would have ejected him. I was just totally miffed by the no-call. Reggie Miller was against an ejection but even he thought something should be called.

You might be able to get away with a technical foul here, but video wouldn't support it.

If you toss this kid, I doubt the state would support most officials on that unless there's been a lot of extra curricular activity leading up to it.

On its own, this is nothing but a talk to.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 958384)
I was wondering the same thing.

Me too, if he slaps him in the face, this whole discussion changes.

Adam Fri Mar 20, 2015 12:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 958423)
there is a further video with the EW player pointing on the ground, basically going WTF was that for. The Georgetown player should have been T'd up there. That was an awful miss call by the refs. Sure maybe the excitement got the better of him. But he made contact with the EW player after the whistle in an aggressive fashion. You can't just let something like that go as the commentators were saying it could lead to trouble/retaliation later in the game. On the TV side the initial debate was about whether or not he could be ejected but they settled on flagrant foul 1. No one expected a no-call here. I do agree the reaction after with the players greeting each other probably helped but I think the refs should have looked at this more carefully.

Quoting the commentators isn't helping your cause.

HokiePaul Fri Mar 20, 2015 01:05pm

Wouldn't that be a illegal (double) dribble, not a travel?

I agree with the no call, since the ball was dead. That sort of contact would be a common foul during a live ball in my opinion.

MD Longhorn Fri Mar 20, 2015 01:10pm

If this is the right video, I must say that a large number of you have lost your minds. I see ZERO contact to the face. Minimal contact (and inadvertent at that) to the torso, perhaps an arm. And then significant embellishment by the traveller, going to the ground for no reason.

AremRed Fri Mar 20, 2015 01:11pm

I'm calling this tech every time. This is the stuff that leads to fights. I don't care if it was unintentional or not, you can't do that. I don't know why other posters are saying this is not defendable by video, I think it is very defendable.

Adam Fri Mar 20, 2015 01:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 958441)
I'm calling this tech every time. This is the stuff that leads to fights. I don't care if it was unintentional or not, you can't do that. I don't know why other posters are saying this is not defendable by video, I think it is very defendable.

Contact during a dead ball is to be ignored unless it is deemed intentional or flagrant.

"Intentional" means that if it happened during a live ball, it must fit the definition of an intentional foul (FF1 in NCAA).

To do so, it must be one of the following:
1. Elbow to the head. NOPE
2. Excessive contact. NOPE
3. Done intentionally (to stop the clock or prevent it from starting). NOPE

As Hokie noted, this is a common foul during live ball, so it should be ignored if it occurs during a dead ball.

so cal lurker Fri Mar 20, 2015 01:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 958441)
I'm calling this tech every time. This is the stuff that leads to fights. I don't care if it was unintentional or not, you can't do that. I don't know why other posters are saying this is not defendable by video, I think it is very defendable.

So, if it sn't intentional, what is the basis for a T??

VaTerp Fri Mar 20, 2015 01:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 958441)
I'm calling this tech every time. This is the stuff that leads to fights. I don't care if it was unintentional or not, you can't do that. I don't know why other posters are saying this is not defendable by video, I think it is very defendable.

Forget video, your stance is not defendable by rule.

And I really think the "this is the type of stuff that leads to fights" saying is overused. At the end of the play the EWU kid taps the Georgetown player on the back indicating that its all good. My guess is the GU player said something to the effect of "my bad" as he walked up to him.

Regardless, I think the officials ruled appropriately here. It was clumsy and looked ugly but it was unintentional. They reviewed it, got it right, and moved onto the game.

And can we edit the OP. There is nothing anywhere close to a smack across the face on this play. Thats completely inaccurate and misleading.

mutantducky Fri Mar 20, 2015 01:42pm

I think the reactions following the event allayed any chance of a T being called (hmm is allayed used right there? :rolleyes:)

But what if the EW player had gotten up and in the GT player's face. The cause of that incident would have been the initial contact. You know what would have happened if that was the case? Refs would go to the replay and I can assure you a Tech would be called on the GT player. If I'm playing a game, or in any games I ref, if someone does what the Georgetown player did, there is likely going to be an argument and heated tempers. In this case there wasn't but I still can't see how you don't call a T here. I'm just totally miffed why some of you think what the refs is ok. the Georgetown player was wrong and there should have been a whistle for it. Preventive officiating.
Yes, an ejection would have been too much.

APG Fri Mar 20, 2015 01:45pm

FYI...they did go to replay...and came to the conclusion of no T.

MD Longhorn Fri Mar 20, 2015 01:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 958453)
But what if the EW player had gotten up and in the GT player's face.

Tech on EW.

Quote:

I'm just totally miffed on how some of you think what the refs did not calling anything is ok. What the Georgetown player did was wrong and there should have been a whistle for it. Preventive officiating.
Yes, an ejection would have been too much.
Simplify this... were is actions intentional? No. Therefore, BY RULE, no grounds for a foul call (of any kind). Be miffed at the way the rule is worded if you must... but by the rules currently in existence, a call here would be incorrect.

Camron Rust Fri Mar 20, 2015 01:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 958456)
Tech on EW.

Simplify this... were is actions intentional? No. Therefore, BY RULE, no grounds for a foul call (of any kind). Be miffed at the way the rule is worded if you must... but by the rules currently in existence, a call here would be incorrect.

Exactly...unless the contact rises to the level of FF1 during a live ball, it can't be a T in this place. Similar contact WELL after the whistle, however, could be considered unsporting and be a T, but not such contact immediately after the whistle. The player can't be expected to completely freeze on the whistle.

Raymond Fri Mar 20, 2015 01:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 958453)
... If I'm playing a game, or in any games I ref, if someone does what the Georgetown player did, there is likely going to be an argument and heated tempers. In this case there wasn't but I still can't see how you don't call a T here. I'm just totally miffed why some of you think what the refs is ok. the Georgetown player was wrong and there should have been a whistle for it. Preventive officiating.
Yes, an ejection would have been too much.

The play was clumsiness, not maliciousness. If the most of us see nothing wrong, and the officials in the game (after replay review) saw nothing wrong, then maybe you need to calibrate your thinking as an official.

Also, the ability to keep his cool, like the player involved, is probably of the intangibles that got him a D1 scholarship.

APG Fri Mar 20, 2015 01:57pm

I just want to point out that what is excessive contact (which is the part of the intentional rule we're probably using in calling a T) during a live ball is different than what is excessive during a dead ball. i don't think you can use the mindframe of "well if it wasn't an intentional personal foul, then it won't be be technical foul." What is excessive depends on context of when the contact occurs.

Example...live ball and I swipe down hard on the arm of the dribbler in an attempt to steal the ball. Foul

I do the same thing after the ball is CLEARLY dead...five seconds after a whistle...that's probably going to get a T 9/10 times.

As to the video...I can live w/o there being a T.

Nevadaref Fri Mar 20, 2015 02:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 958463)
I just want to point out that what is excessive contact (which is the part of the intentional rule we're probably using in calling a T) during a live ball is different than what is excessive during a dead ball. i don't think you can use the mindframe of "well if it wasn't an intentional personal foul, then it won't be be technical foul." What is excessive depends on context of when the contact occurs.

Example...live ball and I swipe down hard on the arm of the dribbler in an attempt to steal the ball. Foul

I do the same thing after the ball is CLEARLY dead...five seconds after a whistle...that's probably going to get a T 9/10 times.

As to the video...I can live w/o there being a T.

That is merely your opinion. You have nothing written in the rules to support your personal stance that there is a difference between live and dead ball intentional/excessive contact.
Furthermore, my opinion is that you are incorrect. The standard is the same by rule.

Raymond Fri Mar 20, 2015 02:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 958466)
That is merely your opinion. You have nothing written in the rules to support your personal stance that there is a difference between live and dead ball intentional/excessive contact.
Furthermore, my opinion is that you are incorrect. The standard is the same by rule.

And that's your opinion which has no rules backing. I already provided the citations in the thread way back when.

So, you do it your way, and others will do it their way.

APG Fri Mar 20, 2015 02:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 958466)
That is merely your opinion. You have nothing written in the rules to support your personal stance that there is a difference between live and dead ball intentional/excessive contact.
Furthermore, my opinion is that you are incorrect. The standard is the same by rule.

Nothing I said is not supported by rule...I just stated the real world expectation/interpretation. Contact being ignored unless it's intentional or flagrant almost always deals with deciding whether to T or ignore contact that occurs at or near the time the ball becomes dead.

Watch any college game where there's a dead ball contact T...I guarantee you that a good percentage of those plays, the contact, if it would have occurred during a live ball would NOT be called a FF1...but they would be backed up by rule and their supervisors cause the contact was excessive for the situation...even if it wouldn't be for a live ball.

so cal lurker Fri Mar 20, 2015 02:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 958466)
That is merely your opinion. You have nothing written in the rules to support your personal stance that there is a difference between live and dead ball intentional/excessive contact.
Furthermore, my opinion is that you are incorrect. The standard is the same by rule.

I would say that the difference is carried in the word "excessive."

Quote:

Full Definition of EXCESSIVE
: exceeding what is usual, proper, necessary, or normal
What is excessive when the ball is in play and entitled to try to steal the ball is flat out different from what is excessive when the ball is dead (clearly dead, not continuous play) and the player has no business trying to swipe at the ball in the first place. What is excessive when a player is battling for position for a rebound is flat out different form what is excessive when players are walking back to the bench after a time out has been signalled and they have no business making any contact at all. When the ball is dead, very little contact is "usual, proper, necessary, or normal," so it doesn't take as much contact to be "excesive."

Nevadaref Fri Mar 20, 2015 02:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 958470)
Nothing I said is not supported by rule...I just stated the real world expectation/interpretation. Contact being ignored unless it's intentional or flagrant almost always deals with deciding whether to T or ignore contact that occurs at or near the time the ball becomes dead.

Watch any college game where there's a dead ball contact T...I guarantee you that a good percentage of those plays, the contact, if it would have occurred during a live ball would NOT be called a FF1...but they would be backed up by rule and their supervisors cause the contact was excessive for the situation...even if it wouldn't be for a live ball.

Nope, you are still giving your personal opinion. What you have now called "the real world expectation/interpretation."
Please cite the text of the rule. What terminology does the rule use for the the dead ball contact standard?
We need to officiate according to the rules, not what you think is appropriate.
We had this same discussion a few weeks ago. You were wrong by rule the and still are now.
There is no rule extant instructing the officials to judge contact one second after the ball becomes dead differently from contact five or ten seconds later. The rule is written to cover ALL dead ball contact without regard to the timeframe.

Raymond Fri Mar 20, 2015 02:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 958475)
...
Please cite the text of the rule. What terminology does the rule use for the the dead ball contact standard?...

c. Flagrant 1 personal foul. A flagrant 1 personal foul is a personal foul that is deemed excessive in nature and/or unnecessary, but is not based solely on the severity of the act. Examples include, but are not limited to:
1. Causing excessive contact with an opponent;
2. Contact that is not a legitimate attempt to play the ball or player, specifically designed to stop or keep the clock from starting;
3. Pushing or holding a player from behind to prevent a score;
4. Fouling a player clearly away from the ball who is not directly involved with the play, specifically designed to stop or keep the clock from starting; and
5. Contact with a player making a throw-in.
6. Illegal contact caused by swinging of an elbow which is deemed excessive or unnecessary but does not rise to the level of a flagrant 2 personal foul (see Rule 4-18.7)


e. Contact dead ball technical foul. A contact dead ball technical foul occurs when the ball is dead and involves contact that is unnecessary, unacceptable and excessive, but does not rise to the level of a flagrant 2
contact technical foul.


Next subject...

APG Fri Mar 20, 2015 02:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 958475)
Nope, you are still giving your personal opinion. What you have now called "the real world expectation/interpretation."
Please cite the text of the rule. What terminology does the rule use for the the dead ball contact standard?
We need to officiate according to the rules, not what you think is appropriate.
We had this same discussion a few weeks ago. You were wrong by rule the and still are now.

Just because you say I'm wrong doesn't make it so. The rule says contact is to be ignored unless intentional or flagrant. Nothing more...nothing less. Nothing about dead ball contact having to equate to a intentional/flagrant personal foul.

But then we have to ask what is intentional or flagrant. For the most part, this is going to deal with excessive contact during a dead ball. We almost never officiate in absolutes...what is excessive in one situation would be common foul in another.

Adam Fri Mar 20, 2015 02:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 958463)
I just want to point out that what is excessive contact (which is the part of the intentional rule we're probably using in calling a T) during a live ball is different than what is excessive during a dead ball. i don't think you can use the mindframe of "well if it wasn't an intentional personal foul, then it won't be be technical foul." What is excessive depends on context of when the contact occurs.

Example...live ball and I swipe down hard on the arm of the dribbler in an attempt to steal the ball. Foul

I do the same thing after the ball is CLEARLY dead...five seconds after a whistle...that's probably going to get a T 9/10 times.

As to the video...I can live w/o there being a T.

In the NFHS rules, it just says "unless intentional or flagrant". Both of those are defined, but I don't disagree that the threshold for what's excessive may be different based on whether the ball is live or dead, or even how long it's been dead. I'll have to ponder that a bit, though.

APG Fri Mar 20, 2015 02:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 958483)
In the NFHS rules, it just says "unless intentional or flagrant". Both of those are defined, but I don't disagree that the threshold for what's excessive may be different based on whether the ball is live or dead, or even how long it's been dead. I'll have to ponder that a bit, though.

And that's my point...what meets the threshold for intentional during a live ball doesn't always carry over to a dead ball....that threshold is going to be a lot lower when the ball is clearly dead...where opponents have no real reason to be causing physical contact.

AremRed Fri Mar 20, 2015 02:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 958443)
Contact during a dead ball is to be ignored unless it is deemed intentional or flagrant.

"Intentional" means that if it happened during a live ball, it must fit the definition of an intentional foul (FF1 in NCAA).

To do so, it must be one of the following:
1. Elbow to the head. NOPE
2. Excessive contact. NOPE
3. Done intentionally (to stop the clock or prevent it from starting). NOPE

As Hokie noted, this is a common foul during live ball, so it should be ignored if it occurs during a dead ball.

I don't need that rule, I can use the unsporting tech rule. I consider that contact to be unnecessary and unacceptable.

Quote:

Originally Posted by so cal lurker (Post 958448)
So, if it sn't intentional, what is the basis for a T??

Does any foul have to be intentionally committed in order to call it??

Quote:

Originally Posted by VaTerp (Post 958450)
Forget video, your stance is not defendable by rule.

By what rule? This is NCAA, not NFHS and the applicable rule (NCAA 10-3-1d) has already been posted elsewhere.

Quote:

Originally Posted by VaTerp (Post 958450)
And I really think the "this is the type of stuff that leads to fights" saying is overused.

I wonder if you would say the same thing after you've been through a fight.

AremRed Fri Mar 20, 2015 02:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 958484)
And that's my point...what meets the threshold for intentional during a live ball doesn't always carry over to a dead ball....that threshold is going to be a lot lower when the ball is clearly dead...where opponents have no real reason to be causing physical contact.

Yeah, there's a difference in threshold for sure. Two players are crossing during a timeout and one deliberately bumps the other one. Probably a common foul during the live play, maybe even incidental, but I'm not ignoring this during a dead ball. Gotta use common sense at times, and I think dead ball contact is one of those times.

Adam Fri Mar 20, 2015 02:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 958485)
I don't need that rule, I can use the unsporting tech rule. I consider that contact to be unnecessary and unacceptable.

I'd have a hard time supporting that with my supervisors in this case given the fact that it's completely accidental. The contact was accidental. Does the rule differentiate? You're looking for a call on "contact", I think you have to use the rules that apply to contact. If you want to get him for taunting....

Adam Fri Mar 20, 2015 03:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 958484)
And that's my point...what meets the threshold for intentional during a live ball doesn't always carry over to a dead ball....that threshold is going to be a lot lower when the ball is clearly dead...where opponents have no real reason to be causing physical contact.

I don't disagree the threshhold moves, but I don't think it moves all that much.

Raymond Fri Mar 20, 2015 03:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 958482)
Just because you say I'm wrong doesn't make it so. The rule says contact is to be ignored unless intentional or flagrant. Nothing more...nothing less. Nothing about dead ball contact having to equate to a intentional/flagrant personal foul.

But then we have to ask what is intentional or flagrant. For the most part, this is going to deal with excessive contact during a dead ball. We almost never officiate in absolutes...what is excessive in one situation would be common foul in another.

From the Fed:

ART. 7

A player shall not:

Intentionally or flagrantly contacting (sic) an opponent when the ball is dead and such contact is not a personal foul.


Nowhere in the rule book does it state that dead ball "intentional" equals the actions that would be "intentional" if the ball were live.

AremRed Fri Mar 20, 2015 03:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 958487)
I'd have a hard time supporting that with my supervisors in this case given the fact that it's completely accidental. The contact was accidental. Does the rule differentiate? You're looking for a call on "contact", I think you have to use the rules that apply to contact. If you want to get him for taunting....

Taunting would work! Although I'm not even sure what the kid was doing. What the hell was he thinking? I'm not sure why so many other posters are saying this was accidental....how can they read the players mind? It's important to again note that we shouldn't base our calls on what a player meant to do, we base it on what the player did do. Unsporting, dead ball contact....whatever it was I'm calling a tech.

Adam Fri Mar 20, 2015 03:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 958490)
Taunting would work! Although I'm not even sure what the kid was doing. What the hell was he thinking? I'm not sure why so many other posters are saying this was accidental....how can they read the players mind? It's important to again note that we shouldn't base our calls on what a player meant to do, we base it on what the player did do. Unsporting, dead ball contact....whatever it was I'm calling a tech.

How do you define unsporting if you're not looking at intent?

Intent matters.

Raymond Fri Mar 20, 2015 03:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 958441)
I'm calling this tech every time. This is the stuff that leads to fights. I don't care if it was unintentional or not, you can't do that. I don't know why other posters are saying this is not defendable by video, I think it is very defendable.

I would say my most called technical is dead-ball contact, but this doesn't rise to that level, especially after seeing the replay.

jpgc99 Fri Mar 20, 2015 03:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 958490)
Taunting would work! Although I'm not even sure what the kid was doing. What the hell was he thinking? I'm not sure why so many other posters are saying this was accidental....how can they read the players mind? It's important to again note that we shouldn't base our calls on what a player meant to do, we base it on what the player did do. Unsporting, dead ball contact....whatever it was I'm calling a tech.

So you are ruling this a technical for unsporting behavior? Not dead ball contact?

I would disagree with ruling it a dead ball contact technical, but can see justification. I do not see any justification for ruling this unsporting behavior.

AremRed Fri Mar 20, 2015 03:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 958492)
How do you define unsporting if you're not looking at intent?

Intent matters.

How does intent matter in relation to the rules? Typically when I call unsporting techs it's for something a player intends to do, but correlation does not equal causation. Just because most unsporting techs are given for intentional acts does not exclude others unintentional actions which may also be unsporting.

Quote:

Originally Posted by jpgc99 (Post 958495)
So you are ruling this a technical for unsporting behavior? Not dead ball contact?

I would disagree with ruling it a dead ball contact technical, but can see justification. I do not see any justification for ruling this unsporting behavior.

Have you not been reading the thread? I'll post the whole rule for ya so you don't get confused:

NCAA 10-3, page 92:

Section 3. CLASS A Unsporting Technical Infractions

Art. 1. A player or substitute committing an unsportsmanlike act including, but
not limited to, the following:

a. Disrespectfully addressing an official or gesturing in such a manner as to indicate resentment.
b. Using profanity or vulgarity; taunting, baiting or ridiculing another player or bench personnel; or pointing a finger at or making obscene gestures toward another player or bench personnel.
c. Inciting undesirable crowd reaction.
d. Contacting an opponent, while the ball is dead, in an unnecessary, unacceptable and excessive manner.
e. Flagrantly (severe or extreme) contacting an opponent while the ball is dead.
f. A flagrant noncontact infraction that involves extreme, sometimes persistent, vulgar, abusive conduct when the ball is dead or live.
g. Participating after having been disqualified (noncontact flagrant 2 technical).
h. Leaving the playing court and going into the stands when a fight may break out or has broken out (flagrant noncontact infraction).
i. Fighting as in Rule 10-5.
j. Disrespectfully contacting an official

Nevadaref Fri Mar 20, 2015 03:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 958489)
From the Fed:

ART. 7

A player shall not:

Intentionally or flagrantly contacting (sic) an opponent when the ball is dead and such contact is not a personal foul.


Nowhere in the rule book does it state that dead ball "intentional" equals the actions that would be "intentional" if the ball were live.

The burden to prove that the standards are different is on APG and now you. The rules book uses the same terminology and no one has produced anything which states that they are to be read or interpreted differently.

Raymond Fri Mar 20, 2015 03:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 958499)
The burden to prove that the standards are different is on APG and now you. The rules book uses the same terminology and no one has produced anything which states that they are to be read or interpreted differently.

Sorry judge, my burden of proof has been accepted in my jurisdiction.

As I said, do as you wish. That's the beautiful thing about the word "interpretation".

And obviously you are only speaking of NFHS, as the NCAA citations clearly show your opinion is not correct for that venue.

hbk314 Fri Mar 20, 2015 03:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 958498)
How does intent matter in relation to the rules? Typically when I call unsporting techs it's for something a player intends to do, but correlation does not equal causation. Just because most unsporting techs are given for intentional acts does not exclude others unintentional actions which may also be unsporting.



Have you not been reading the thread? I'll post the whole rule for ya so you don't get confused:

NCAA 10-3, page 92:

Section 3. CLASS A Unsporting Technical Infractions

Art. 1. A player or substitute committing an unsportsmanlike act including, but
not limited to, the following:

a. Disrespectfully addressing an official or gesturing in such a manner as to indicate resentment.
b. Using profanity or vulgarity; taunting, baiting or ridiculing another player or bench personnel; or pointing a finger at or making obscene gestures toward another player or bench personnel.
c. Inciting undesirable crowd reaction.
d. Contacting an opponent, while the ball is dead, in an unnecessary, unacceptable and excessive manner.
e. Flagrantly (severe or extreme) contacting an opponent while the ball is dead.
f. A flagrant noncontact infraction that involves extreme, sometimes persistent, vulgar, abusive conduct when the ball is dead or live.
g. Participating after having been disqualified (noncontact flagrant 2 technical).
h. Leaving the playing court and going into the stands when a fight may break out or has broken out (flagrant noncontact infraction).
i. Fighting as in Rule 10-5.
j. Disrespectfully contacting an official

Is "excessive" a rulebook defined term? If not, it seems to be subjective depending on the situation. I'd agree with those who believe what's excessive in a live-ball situation and what's excessive in a dead-ball situation are different.

jpgc99 Fri Mar 20, 2015 03:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 958498)
How does intent matter in relation to the rules? Typically when I call unsporting techs it's for something a player intends to do, but correlation does not equal causation. Just because most unsporting techs are given for intentional acts does not exclude others unintentional actions which may also be unsporting.



Have you not been reading the thread? I'll post the whole rule for ya so you don't get confused:

NCAA 10-3, page 92:

Section 3. CLASS A Unsporting Technical Infractions

Art. 1. A player or substitute committing an unsportsmanlike act including, but
not limited to, the following:

a. Disrespectfully addressing an official or gesturing in such a manner as to indicate resentment.
b. Using profanity or vulgarity; taunting, baiting or ridiculing another player or bench personnel; or pointing a finger at or making obscene gestures toward another player or bench personnel.
c. Inciting undesirable crowd reaction.
d. Contacting an opponent, while the ball is dead, in an unnecessary, unacceptable and excessive manner.
e. Flagrantly (severe or extreme) contacting an opponent while the ball is dead.
f. A flagrant noncontact infraction that involves extreme, sometimes persistent, vulgar, abusive conduct when the ball is dead or live.
g. Participating after having been disqualified (noncontact flagrant 2 technical).
h. Leaving the playing court and going into the stands when a fight may break out or has broken out (flagrant noncontact infraction).
i. Fighting as in Rule 10-5.
j. Disrespectfully contacting an official

You said you would consider ruling this as "taunting." You are correct that both are under the section of rules "Class A Unsporting Technical Fouls" but the penalty is different for a contact deadball technical. This is the difference I am pointing out.

Are you giving the ball back to the team that traveled in this situation or are you going POI? There IS a difference.

mutantducky Fri Mar 20, 2015 03:50pm

for future reference
say this play in NFHS. So travel, then dead ball contact that you deem excessive and a T is called.

Is it two fts and the ball for the team that traveled. Or two fts and the ball back the Georgetown team(assuming this is High school).

APG Fri Mar 20, 2015 03:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 958507)
for future reference
say this play in NFHS. So travel, then dead ball contact that you deem excessive and a T is called.

Is it two fts and the ball for the team that traveled. Or two fts and the ball back the Georgetown team(assuming this is High school).

Under NFHS rules what is the penalty for all single technical fouls?

VaTerp Fri Mar 20, 2015 03:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 958485)
By what rule? This is NCAA, not NFHS and the applicable rule (NCAA 10-3-1d) has already been posted elsewhere

You said you are calling this a tech "every time" so I'm assuming that you are calling it a tech in your HS games as well.

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 958485)
I wonder if you would say the same thing after you've been through a fight.

I've been involved in games that had fights as a player, coach, and an official. And that statement is oversused, case in point by you in this thread.

AremRed Fri Mar 20, 2015 03:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jpgc99 (Post 958505)
You said you would consider ruling this as "taunting." You are correct that both are under the section of rules "Class A Unsporting Technical Fouls" but the penalty is different for a contact deadball technical. This is the difference I am pointing out.

Are you giving the ball back to the team that traveled in this situation or are you going POI? There IS a difference.

I would consider this a contact dead ball tech under NCAA 10-3-1d and award the ball to the offended team at the division line on either side of the court.

Nevadaref Fri Mar 20, 2015 04:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 958501)
Sorry judge, my burden of proof has been accepted in my jurisdiction.

As I said, do as you wish. That's the beautiful thing about the word "interpretation".

And obviously you are only speaking of NFHS, as the NCAA citations clearly show your opinion is not correct for that venue.

No. The NCAA standard is written right here as you posted.
"e. Contact dead ball technical foul. A contact dead ball technical foul occurs when the ball is dead and involves contact that is unnecessary, unacceptable and excessive, but does not rise to the level of a flagrant 2
contact technical foul."

The problem is that the rule uses the word "and" while you are applying it as if it said "or" in your attempt to justify calling a tech for just unnecessary contact during a dead ball.

You are fortunate that the powers where you are support your method because the rules book language does not.

hbk314 Fri Mar 20, 2015 04:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 958513)
No. The NCAA standard is written right here as you posted.
"e. Contact dead ball technical foul. A contact dead ball technical foul occurs when the ball is dead and involves contact that is unnecessary, unacceptable and excessive, but does not rise to the level of a flagrant 2
contact technical foul."

The problem is that the rule uses the word "and" while you are applying it as if it said "or" in your attempt to justify calling a tech for just unnecessary contact during a dead ball.

You are fortunate that the powers where you are support your method because the rules book language does not.

Isn't contact that's unnecessary also unacceptable by definition? And the bar for excessive would be significantly lower during a dead ball.

Camron Rust Fri Mar 20, 2015 04:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 958484)
And that's my point...what meets the threshold for intentional during a live ball doesn't always carry over to a dead ball....that threshold is going to be a lot lower when the ball is clearly dead...where opponents have no real reason to be causing physical contact.

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 958486)
Yeah, there's a difference in threshold for sure. Two players are crossing during a timeout and one deliberately bumps the other one. Probably a common foul during the live play, maybe even incidental, but I'm not ignoring this during a dead ball. Gotta use common sense at times, and I think dead ball contact is one of those times.

I agree. Excessive is relative to the context...and that context isn't specifically demarcated by the status of the ball. If that were not the case, we'd have one of two results. We'd have a lot of T's for contact just after the whistle blows or we'd have to allow a lot of silly dead ball contact well after the whistle. The threshold shifts when the action is such that it is no longer connected to the live ball action.

mutantducky Fri Mar 20, 2015 05:37pm

ok so contact T. In this case the whistle blew, the play was clearly dead, and the GT player made contact. Not a flagrant 2 but a clear example of a contact dead ball technical. If you let that go, then what's stopping players in games from doing what he did? I've had games after a violation, when the defender will wrest the ball out of an offensive player's hand. That may not be a T, they are trying to get the ball back and play to resume quicker. But here there is contact and it does not seem incidental at all. IMO

errr, watch it out 33 to 38 seconds. The GT players knows there is a whistle. I don't know if it is just a stupid celebration that went over the top, but how in the world can you people say you'd ignore the contact he made? He clearly hits the EW player. It is a textbook case of a dead ball T.

per Nevada

Quote:

Contact dead ball technical foul. A contact dead ball technical foul occurs when the ball is dead and involves contact that is unnecessary, unacceptable and excessive, but does not rise to the level of a flagrant 2

jpgc99 Fri Mar 20, 2015 06:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 958526)
ok so contact T. In this case the whistle blew, the play was clearly dead, and the GT player made contact. Not a flagrant 2 but a clear example of a contact dead ball technical. If you let that go, then what's stopping players in games from doing what he did? I've had games after a violation, when the defender will wrest the ball out of an offensive player's hand. That may not be a T, they are trying to get the ball back and play to resume quicker. But here there is contact and it does not seem incidental at all. IMO

errr, watch it out 33 to 38 seconds. The GT players knows there is a whistle. I don't know if it is just a stupid celebration that went over the top, but how in the world can you people say you'd ignore the contact he made? He clearly hits the EW player. It is a textbook case of a dead ball T.

per Nevada

This is not a textbook case -- clearly -- as many excellent officials have stated they wouldn't call it here.

Camron Rust Fri Mar 20, 2015 06:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 958526)
ok so contact T. In this case the whistle blew, the play was clearly dead, and the GT player made contact. Not a flagrant 2 but a clear example of a contact dead ball technical. If you let that go, then what's stopping players in games from doing what he did? I've had games after a violation, when the defender will wrest the ball out of an offensive player's hand. That may not be a T, they are trying to get the ball back and play to resume quicker. But here there is contact and it does not seem incidental at all. IMO

errr, watch it out 33 to 38 seconds. The GT players knows there is a whistle. I don't know if it is just a stupid celebration that went over the top, but how in the world can you people say you'd ignore the contact he made? He clearly hits the EW player. It is a textbook case of a dead ball T.

per Nevada


This just wasn't unnecessary or excessive. There is some amount of time after the whistle where we allow the players to wind down before that would be considered unnecessary or excessive. If not, you'd have a bunch of silly T's every game whenever you had the possibility of a travel or a foul when the travel happens first or two or more possible fouls.

It is a matter of deliberately contacting the opponent when it is clear the ball is dead vs. brief continued play after the whistle.

MechanicGuy Fri Mar 20, 2015 06:53pm

I wouldn't call the T either, although I've worked with many partners who wouldn't hesitate to do so. I think a T could certainly be justified, though a minority of officials world call it.

Adam Sat Mar 21, 2015 08:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 958498)
How does intent matter in relation to the rules? Typically when I call unsporting techs it's for something a player intends to do, but correlation does not equal causation. Just because most unsporting techs are given for intentional acts does not exclude others unintentional actions which may also be unsporting.

Sorry, but it seems to me the very definition of sportsmanship involves intent, as would the opposite. I can't think of a single example of an unsporting tech I would call where the action wasn't deliberate. I'll bet you can't either, given that you're going with a dead ball contact T. I still don't see how you can do that for contact that is neither intentional nor excessive.

Even allowing for a moving threshold for "excessive", this doesn't even come close, IMO. It looks bad because the other guy had gotten his feet twisted into knots.

Adam Sat Mar 21, 2015 08:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 958485)
I don't need that rule, I can use the unsporting tech rule. I consider that contact to be unnecessary and unacceptable.

Does any foul have to be intentionally committed in order to call it??

No, but it does if you're going to call it F1, unless it's excessive contact.

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 958490)
Taunting would work! Although I'm not even sure what the kid was doing. What the hell was he thinking? I'm not sure why so many other posters are saying this was accidental....how can they read the players mind? It's important to again note that we shouldn't base our calls on what a player meant to do, we base it on what the player did do. Unsporting, dead ball contact....whatever it was I'm calling a tech.

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 958510)
I would consider this a contact dead ball tech under NCAA 10-3-1d and award the ball to the offended team at the division line on either side of the court.

I'm trying to track your train of thought here. First, you say you're going with excessive contact, then you say you're going with taunting so you don't need the DB contact rule. Now you're back to DB contact, presumably so you can give the ball to the other team.

I don't see this as either. The contact is not excessive, and I don't think you can have a DBC technical foul if the contact isn't excessive based on the wording of the rule. I recognize what's "excessive" is up to judgment, but this isn't even that close to me. I wouldn't question a partner who called it on the floor because I still think random and quick technical fouls are good for the game overall.

You've got a better case for tuanting, IMO, taunting is directed at the opponent (the exception would be actions designed to draw attention to himself, but this isn't that). Unless I can tell for sure he's directing his actions at his opponent rather than getting a bit exuberant after forcing a travel, I don't think think I can justify a taunting T.

If the kid who traveled hadn't made himself so vulnerable and off balance, he doesn't fall and we're not having this discussion.

Raymond Sat Mar 21, 2015 01:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 958513)
No. The NCAA standard is written right here as you posted.
"e. Contact dead ball technical foul. A contact dead ball technical foul occurs when the ball is dead and involves contact that is unnecessary, unacceptable and excessive, but does not rise to the level of a flagrant 2
contact technical foul."

The problem is that the rule uses the word "and" while you are applying it as if it said "or" in your attempt to justify calling a tech for just unnecessary contact during a dead ball.

You are fortunate that the powers where you are support your method because the rules book language does not.

My judgment determines what is "unnecessary, unacceptable and excessive,". For some reason it offends your sensibilities when someone's judgment doesn't match yours.

A2 cuts through the paint, B3 sticks out his shoulder and knocks him off his path. Common foul

A2 jogs towards his bench for a time-out, B3 sticks out his shoulder and knocks him off his path. In my game it's a T, in your game it's a ....

BillyMac Sat Mar 21, 2015 01:49pm

A Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Change ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 958686)
A2 cuts through the paint, B3 sticks out his shoulder and knocks him off his path. Common foul

A2 jogs towards his bench for a time-out, B3 sticks out his shoulder and knocks him off his path. In my game it's a T, in your game it's a ....

... technical foul.

Good example of a common foul (not an intentional foul) when the ball is live, and an intentional (technical) foul when the ball is dead, for the same, exact, physical contact.

And, by the way, I was leaning toward siding with Nevadaref's, "There is no rule extant instructing the officials to judge contact one second after the ball becomes dead differently from contact five or ten seconds later" interpretation. Nevaderef may, by strict interpretation of the written rule, and definition, be correct, but sometimes we just have to officiate the game.

On the other hand, the definition (NFHS) of intentional foul does include the phrase, "but are not limited to", which may bolster BadNewsRef's interpretation.

On the other hand (am I running out of hands?) can't we just call such contact (A2 jogs towards his bench for a time-out, B3 sticks out his shoulder and knocks him off his path) an unsporting technical foul, which includes the (NFHS) phrase, "is not limited to, acts, or conduct such as", thus avoiding the entire intentional, not intentional, live ball, dead ball, debate, or is that taking the easy way out?

Now? Who do I want to antagonize the least, BadNewsRef, or Nevaderef; and how does, "The enemy of my enemy is my friend", fit this situation?

Maybe, this way?

https://sp.yimg.com/ib/th?id=HN.6080...4&pid=15.1&P=0

APG Sat Mar 21, 2015 03:13pm

Cincinnati vs UK

Contact dead ball T...perfect example of contact that would be a common foul during live ball play....but called a T during a dead ball.

Raymond Sat Mar 21, 2015 03:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 958697)
Cincinnati vs UK

Contact dead ball T...perfect example of contact that would be a common foul during live ball play....but called a T during a dead ball.

You beat me to it. Per Nevada's interpretation, this should be ignored in both NFHS and NCAA.

Adam Sat Mar 21, 2015 03:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 958698)
You beat me to it. Per Nevada's interpretation, this should be ignored in both NFHS and NCAA.

Can't wait to see that video.

Raymond Sat Mar 21, 2015 04:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 958699)
Can't wait to see that video.

It was basically a shoulder bump while crossing paths.

AremRed Mon Mar 23, 2015 12:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 958698)
You beat me to it. Per Nevada's interpretation, this should be ignored in both NFHS and NCAA.

Just watched it, agree with everything you wrote.

Raymond Wed Mar 25, 2015 01:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 958691)
...

On the other hand (am I running out of hands?) can't we just call such contact (A2 jogs towards his bench for a time-out, B3 sticks out his shoulder and knocks him off his path) an unsporting technical foul, which includes the (NFHS) phrase, "is not limited to, acts, or conduct such as", thus avoiding the entire intentional, not intentional, live ball, dead ball, debate, or is that taking the easy way out?...

You can't take the easy way out in NCAA-Men's b/c Dead Ball Contact technicals are administered differently than Unsporting technicals.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:57pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1