The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Is this a travel? (Video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99410-travel-video.html)

Camron Rust Sun Mar 01, 2015 03:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 956581)
Even if accompanied by "customary arm movement(s)"?

Coming down is not customary arm movement....and I've never seen a player shoot the ball on the way down in a jump stop.

BillyMac Sun Mar 01, 2015 04:03pm

Over Under ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 956584)
Coming down is not customary arm movement....and I've never seen a player shoot the ball on the way down in a jump stop.

Not even the "over under" move when a shooter sees that his shot may be blocked, and "buttonhooks" the shot around the blocker's outstretched arms, and hands? But, in this "over under" (like a kind of double pump) case, many officials, including me, would not call that continuous motion if the shooter was fouled on the first motion.

So with just shooter's move, alone, described above, without a foul, could a player shoot the ball on the way down? I say, "Yes".

Camron Rust Sun Mar 01, 2015 04:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 956585)
Not even the "over under" move when a shooter sees that his shot may be blocked, and "buttonhooks" the shot around the blocker's outstretched arms, and hands? But, in this "over under" (like a kind of double pump) case, many officials, including me, would not call that continuous motion if the shooter was fouled on the first motion.

So with just shooter's move, alone, described above, without a foul, could a player shoot the ball on the way down? I say, "Yes".

Different moves, different results.

Raymond Sun Mar 01, 2015 11:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 956585)
...

So with just shooter's move, alone, described above, without a foul, could a player shoot the ball on the way down? I say, "Yes".

Per NCAA-Men's, the answer is no. YMMV

BillyMac Mon Mar 02, 2015 07:07am

NCAA Rules ??? Like Sgt. Schultz, I Know Nothing ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 956612)
Per NCAA-Men's, the answer is no.

Sorry. I thought the video was from a high school game.

So, under NCAA rules, an airborne shooter, who, at the apex of his jump, decides that his shot will be blocked, and decides to wait a split second and shoot the ball on the way down, before landing, to possibly avoid the blocked shot, is performing an illegal act.

So, Camron Rust's statement, "I've never seen a player shoot the ball on the way down in a jump stop", is not only true (he really has never seen this move), but it's also illegal? What's the NCAA infraction, illegal shot?

bob jenkins Mon Mar 02, 2015 08:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 956622)
Sorry. I thought the video was from a high school game.

So, under NCAA rules, an airborne shooter, who, at the apex of his jump, decides that his shot will be blocked, and decides to wait a split second and shoot the ball on the way down, before landing, to possibly avoid the blocked shot, is performing an illegal act.
So, Camron Rust's statement, "I've never seen a player shoot the ball on the way down in a jump stop", is not only true (he really has never seen this move), but it's also illegal? What's the NCAA infraction, illegal shot?

I don't read anything like that in BNR's post.

It seems as though you're either trying to troll, or being intentionally obtuse,.

Raymond Mon Mar 02, 2015 08:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 956622)
Sorry. I thought the video was from a high school game.

So, under NCAA rules, an airborne shooter, who, at the apex of his jump, decides that his shot will be blocked, and decides to wait a split second and shoot the ball on the way down, before landing, to possibly avoid the blocked shot, is performing an illegal act.

So, Camron Rust's statement, "I've never seen a player shoot the ball on the way down in a jump stop", is not only true (he really has never seen this move), but it's also illegal? What's the NCAA infraction, illegal shot?

That player has already raised the ball as part of the shooting motion.

In NCAA-Men's a player who has gathered, but not yet performed an upward motion as part of the habitual shooting motion, will not get credited with a shooting foul.

Kansas Ref Mon Mar 02, 2015 11:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 956581)
Even if accompanied by "customary arm movement(s)"?

lol @ "accompanied by customary arm movements"

ballgame99 Mon Mar 02, 2015 03:48pm

Block, waive off the basket, shoot two.

How do you have a no-call here?

BillyMac Mon Mar 02, 2015 05:16pm

Legal ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 956630)
I don't read anything like that in BNR's post.

I was actually asking everyone, not just BadNewsRef, about Camron Rust's statement ...

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 956584)
I've never seen a player shoot the ball on the way down in a jump stop.

... because, even though I don't know a lot about NCAA rules, I still believe that this move would be legal ...

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 956622)
... an airborne shooter, who, at the apex of his jump, decides that his shot will be blocked, and decides to wait a split second and shoot the ball on the way down, before landing, to possibly avoid the blocked shot ...

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 956585)
...with just shooter's move, alone, described above, without a foul, could a player shoot the ball on the way down? I say, "Yes".

This is not a situation regarding continuation, since a foul is not involved with my play. I still say "Yes. A player could shoot the ball on the way down to a jump stop", but, again, I don't know a lot about NCAA rules.

Camron Rust states that he's never seen this. I believe him. But it can happen, I've seen it, and I believe that it would be legal.

Camron Rust Mon Mar 02, 2015 05:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 956711)
I was actually asking everyone, not just BadNewsRef, about Camron Rust's statement ...

... because, even though I don't know a lot about NCAA rules, I still believe that this move would be legal ...

This is not a situation regarding continuation, since a foul is not involved with my play. I still say "Yes. A player could shoot the ball on the way down to a jump stop", but, again, I don't know a lot about NCAA rules.

Camron Rust states that he's never seen this. I believe him. But it can happen, I've seen it, and I believe that it would be legal.

The two plays just don't look the same. Double pumping to avoid a potential blocked shot looks completely different. In a jump stop play, the player will pretty obviously not be trying to shoot the ball before going back up vs. the double pump shooter. Plus, most jump shooters will have already exceeded the foot movements that would allow them to jump stop so shooting is really the only option on those plays.

BillyMac Mon Mar 02, 2015 05:54pm

I'm Certainly Not Being Obtuse ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 956630)
It seems as though you're either trying to troll, or being intentionally obtuse,.

And you aren't following the thread.

I have been responding to this statement:

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 956584)
I've never seen a player shoot the ball on the way down in a jump stop.

I believe Camron Rust when he states that he has never observed this, but I have. Why would he lie?

I would like Camron Rust to consider the possibility that this play (shoot the ball on the way down in a jump stop) could actually happen, and then deal with the ramifications of that happening, which would include, in my opinion, no continuation in the play if the shooter had been fouled on the first shooting move upward, not the second shooting motion, on the "over under" move when a shooter sees that his shot may be blocked, and "buttonhooks" the shot around the blocker's outstretched arms, and hands (a kind of double pump).

That's all. Nothing obtuse about that.

BillyMac Mon Mar 02, 2015 06:00pm

Michael Jordon-esque ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 956716)
The two plays just don't look the same.

Agree. I was thinking about one of those Michael Jordon-esque plays where the airborne shooter seems to hang in the air for about ten seconds, not just a common, garden variety, jump shot.

Note: My use of hyperbole would have definitely impressed my high school, English teacher, Mr. Baumgartner.

bob jenkins Mon Mar 02, 2015 10:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 956717)
I believe Camron Rust when he states that he has never observed this, but I have. Why would he lie?

You haven't seen it.

If a player shoots the ball on the way down, then it's not a jump stop.

BillyMac Tue Mar 03, 2015 07:10am

Jump (For My Love) (The Pointer Sisters, 1983) ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 956735)
If a player shoots the ball on the way down, then it's not a jump stop.

He's an airborne shooter, he eventually has to land. As an airborne shooter, he had to elevate, or jump, and he stopped descending when he hit the floor. All kinds of physical laws are involved here. Newton would have loved to study this play. Let me check Rule 4 to find a proper term, or definition. No jump stop in Rule 4. Maybe I could call it a landing? Better? Wait? No landing in Rule 4.

Now, if you are referring to the various legal methods of moving one's feet while holding the ball, as described in 4-44 (not identified as jump stop by the NFHS), you're right.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1