![]() |
Is this a travel? (Video)
This was discussed on a fan site.
Tell me why or why not this is a travel? I will hang up and listen for your answer. :D <iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/KhIlVjKMVxY" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe> Peace |
Guess it's a HTBT situation ;)
|
Quote:
Peace |
Travel. Dribble ends while player's left foot is in contact with the court (making it the pivot foot), then alights off the pivot foot. At this point, for a jump stop to be legal, the player must return to the court with both feet simultaneously. Instead, the right foot lands in a step, followed by the pivot foot returning to the court before the player releases on the try for goal.
This is actually easier to call on the court than many will think. Both feet landing simultaneously in a legal jump stop is almost always followed by a pause while the player looks for someone to pass to, or an immediate jump shot. This was not the case here, so if it was noted when the dribble ended, the travel call is easy. |
Block.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
It was "Tell me why or why not this is a travel?" So, I did. |
Block prior to the travel.
|
Quote:
|
Block...in NCAA-Men's that would be a common foul, not shooting, because of the upward motion facet of the rule set.
Ignoring that, question. Since most all agree there was a block, what about the fact that her pivot foot came back down before releasing the shot? Are we counting the basket and ignoring the travel? |
Quote:
|
For whatever reason here, they want anytime that a player gathers the ball and is fouled a shooting foul. Havent figured out if that is an association thing or from the state but its not one I'm fond one.
|
Two Cents ...
Block.
Continuous motion (during the interval which begins when the habitual throwing movement starts a try … permitted to complete the customary arm movement, and if pivoting or stepping when fouled, may complete the usual foot or body movement in any activity while holding the ball. These privileges are granted only when the usual throwing motion has started before the foul occurs and before the ball is in flight). Travel. No basket. Two free throws. Or, to keep things simple, figure that everything balances out (one coach avoids a foul on his player, the other gets some points), and don't blow the whistle, like these guys did. That's a rule? Right? |
Quote:
|
Continuation ???
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Over Under ...
Quote:
So with just shooter's move, alone, described above, without a foul, could a player shoot the ball on the way down? I say, "Yes". |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
NCAA Rules ??? Like Sgt. Schultz, I Know Nothing ...
Quote:
So, under NCAA rules, an airborne shooter, who, at the apex of his jump, decides that his shot will be blocked, and decides to wait a split second and shoot the ball on the way down, before landing, to possibly avoid the blocked shot, is performing an illegal act. So, Camron Rust's statement, "I've never seen a player shoot the ball on the way down in a jump stop", is not only true (he really has never seen this move), but it's also illegal? What's the NCAA infraction, illegal shot? |
Quote:
It seems as though you're either trying to troll, or being intentionally obtuse,. |
Quote:
In NCAA-Men's a player who has gathered, but not yet performed an upward motion as part of the habitual shooting motion, will not get credited with a shooting foul. |
Quote:
|
Block, waive off the basket, shoot two.
How do you have a no-call here? |
Legal ???
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Camron Rust states that he's never seen this. I believe him. But it can happen, I've seen it, and I believe that it would be legal. |
Quote:
|
I'm Certainly Not Being Obtuse ...
Quote:
I have been responding to this statement: Quote:
I would like Camron Rust to consider the possibility that this play (shoot the ball on the way down in a jump stop) could actually happen, and then deal with the ramifications of that happening, which would include, in my opinion, no continuation in the play if the shooter had been fouled on the first shooting move upward, not the second shooting motion, on the "over under" move when a shooter sees that his shot may be blocked, and "buttonhooks" the shot around the blocker's outstretched arms, and hands (a kind of double pump). That's all. Nothing obtuse about that. |
Michael Jordon-esque ...
Quote:
Note: My use of hyperbole would have definitely impressed my high school, English teacher, Mr. Baumgartner. |
Quote:
If a player shoots the ball on the way down, then it's not a jump stop. |
Jump (For My Love) (The Pointer Sisters, 1983) ...
Quote:
Now, if you are referring to the various legal methods of moving one's feet while holding the ball, as described in 4-44 (not identified as jump stop by the NFHS), you're right. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46pm. |