The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   UNC/Duke (Video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99342-unc-duke-video.html)

BigCat Thu Feb 19, 2015 02:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RefCT (Post 955465)
We are advised to call it a block because if he starts leaning back before contact, he lost verticality and is no longer has LGP. No different than if he had his arms extended and made contact. (I didn't watch the video - I am referring to a case where they start to fall backwards without contact - not moving backwards with their feet)

and we are told defender cannot move in any direction except vertically before contact. they made a point to say this when they changed the block/charge rule from last year's fiasco.

letemplay Thu Feb 19, 2015 03:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 955454)
All good except he's not allowed to pivot after the jump stop and he did....with a large step, not a little shuffle or anything that could be considered hair splitting.

He jumped off of one foot well after catching the ball prior to the jump stop....he had it in both hands above his head before he jumped.

Right, so what could he have done legally after the jump stop to get his shot off? Jumped with both feet?

BTW, any diff NCAA/NFHS in this play?

Raymond Thu Feb 19, 2015 03:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 955463)
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/2JS8bBmggjU" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

In the NFL he would have been flagged.

Adam Thu Feb 19, 2015 03:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RefCT (Post 955465)
We are advised to call it a block because if he starts leaning back before contact, he lost verticality and is no longer has LGP.

Interesting interpretation of the LGP rule.

Wrong, but interesting.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 955472)
and we are told defender cannot move in any direction except vertically before contact. they made a point to say this when they changed the block/charge rule from last year's fiasco.

Also a wrong interpretation of the rule. Players may always move backwards after gaining LGP. In fact, the only direction of movement that costs them their LGP is towards the ball handler.

Raymond Thu Feb 19, 2015 03:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 955477)
Also a wrong interpretation of the rule. Players may always move backwards after gaining LGP. In fact, the only direction of movement that costs them their LGP is towards the ball handler.

Actually, I heard the same thing in one of my preseason clinics.

ballgame99 Thu Feb 19, 2015 03:11pm

Most definitely a foul on that screen; the screen looks fine but the blatant holding of the help defender is a foul. Nicely disguised though.

BigCat Thu Feb 19, 2015 03:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 955477)
Interesting interpretation of the LGP rule.

Wrong, but interesting.



Also a wrong interpretation of the rule. Players may always move backwards after gaining LGP. In fact, the only direction of movement that costs them their LGP is towards the ball handler.

No Adam, It's not wrong. It was approved in June by the NCAA oversight panel. If you are attempting to draw a charge on a pass or shot you must be in position before contact occurs and you cannot move in ANY DIRECTION before contact occurs.(except vertically).

and i don't have the time for it until after the season but id like to have a conversation about lgp/rules v how the game has been played for years, and years etc.

bob jenkins Thu Feb 19, 2015 03:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by letemplay (Post 955475)
Right, so what could he have done legally after the jump stop to get his shot off? Jumped with both feet?

BTW, any diff NCAA/NFHS in this play?

You can jump with both feet. You can lift one foot and then jump off the other (which is what you, I think, described earlier as being illegal -- it isn't).

What you can't do (under this type of jump stop) is lift either foot and return it to the floor.

Camron Rust Thu Feb 19, 2015 03:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 955477)
Interesting interpretation of the LGP rule.

Wrong, but interesting.



Also a wrong interpretation of the rule. Players may always move backwards after gaining LGP. In fact, the only direction of movement that costs them their LGP is towards the ball handler.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 955479)
Actually, I heard the same thing in one of my preseason clinics.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 955481)
No Adam, It's not wrong. It was approved in June by the NCAA oversight panel. If you are attempting to draw a charge on a pass or shot you must be in position before contact occurs and you cannot move in ANY DIRECTION before contact occurs.(except vertically).

and i don't have the time for it until after the season but id like to have a conversation about lgp/rules v how the game has been played for years, and years etc.

Someone may have said it, but it is still wrong. A defender can ALWAYS legally move away from the point of contact. There is absolutely no rule support even close to saying otherwise. Whoever is saying it is making stuff up. Just because some number of officials have called it wrong for years and years doesn't make it right.

Raymond Thu Feb 19, 2015 03:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 955485)
Someone may have said it, but it is still wrong. A defender can ALWAYS legally move away from the point of contact. There is absolutely no rule support even close to saying otherwise. Whoever is saying it is making stuff up. Just because some number of officials have called it wrong for years and years doesn't make it right.

When I say I heard it, I heard it in some form of context from the NCAA. I remember being taken aback about it, as it was just sort of glossed over. I believe I even brought it up here in a thread before the season started.

However, the preseason slides from Art Hyland contain the followin text concerning 4-17-4:

"If defender establishes legal guarding position before shooter becomes airborne, defender may jump straight in the air or move backwards"

BigCat Thu Feb 19, 2015 03:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 955485)
Someone may have said it, but it is still wrong. A defender can ALWAYS legally move away from the point of contact. There is absolutely no rule support even close to saying otherwise. Whoever is saying it is making stuff up. Just because some number of officials have called it wrong for years and years doesn't make it right.

The NCAA oversight panel has said it. There in charge. They get to make "stuff up." It was recommended and approved. You will see it in the next rule book.

Eastshire Thu Feb 19, 2015 03:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 955441)
Not saying this is right, but I was thinking...

1. When the defender falls back early it kind of acts like an undercut of the shooter, which can be dangerous.

2. Falling back early makes the torso contact minimal, and minimal contact often doesn't result in a foul call.

So, as a result, a blocking foul on the defender should be called.

1. The shooter creates a dangerous situation so let's reward it by calling a foul on the defender who did nothing wrong? Wow.

jeremy341a Thu Feb 19, 2015 03:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 955489)
The NCAA oversight panel has said it. There in charge. They get to make "stuff up." It was recommended and approved. You will see it in the next rule book.


Jay Bilas will approve.

Raymond Thu Feb 19, 2015 03:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 955485)
Someone may have said it, but it is still wrong. A defender can ALWAYS legally move away from the point of contact. There is absolutely no rule support even close to saying otherwise. Whoever is saying it is making stuff up. Just because some number of officials have called it wrong for years and years doesn't make it right.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 955487)
When I say I heard it, I heard it in some form of context from the NCAA. I remember being taken aback about it, as it was just sort of glossed over. I believe I even brought it up here in a thread before the season started.

However, the preseason slides from Art Hyland contain the followin text concerning 4-17-4:

"If defender establishes legal guarding position before shooter becomes airborne, defender may jump straight in the air or move backwards"


I just reviewed the preseason NCAA video, John Adams says the defender may move backwards. But I know I heard or read something "official" from the NCAA saying the defender couldn't move backwards. I wish I would have taken better note of it when I came across the information.

Camron Rust Thu Feb 19, 2015 04:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 955492)
I just reviewed the preseason NCAA video, John Adams says the defender may move backwards. But I know I heard or read something "official" from the NCAA saying the defender couldn't move backwards. I wish I would have taken better note of it when I came across the information.

I think some people, perhaps even those with some authority are probably speaking incompletely and others are assuming the comment was absolute when it was intended to apply to a specific set of circumstances.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1