The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Duke at Notre Dame (Video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99184-duke-notre-dame-video.html)

Camron Rust Sun Feb 01, 2015 12:13am

I think both were fine as called.

In the first, it looks like he may have hit the arm as must if not more than the ball. The lead was in perfect position to see it. The camera wasn't.

In the second, the defender never stopped moving towards the shooter. I though it was not a foul from one angle but, as Bad Zebra said, another showed he was moving towards the shooter.

La Rikardo Sun Feb 01, 2015 02:23am

First play: I'll defer to the calling official's angle on the play.

Second play: I hate plays like this where a player hesitates when taking a 3 and then jumps into the airborne defender but I think in this case, unfortunately, it's a foul.

ccrroo Sun Feb 01, 2015 10:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 953153)
I think you mean white 35.

And, yes, one of the decisions we frequently have to make is whether the offense is displacing the defense, or whether the defense is simply giving ground.

My bad. I meant W35.

I'm assuming in this case the official thought the defense was giving ground. So the defense doesn't have to do anything but play it exactly as he did.
Then the ref decides displacing or giving?

Rich Sun Feb 01, 2015 10:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 953146)
And?

Yup. That's a foul. The defender left his feet and moved significantly forward towards the shooter -- smart play by the shooter to draw the foul.

The overhead shot shows that #1 is probably a miss, but it's still not the look the L had, so who knows what he saw?

bob jenkins Sun Feb 01, 2015 11:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ccrroo (Post 953170)
My bad. I meant W35.

I'm assuming in this case the official thought the defense was giving ground. So the defense doesn't have to do anything but play it exactly as he did.
Then the ref decides displacing or giving?

Correct -- and I agree with the official that W35 was giving ground and that this part of the action was NOT a foul (and I have no comment on any other part of the play)

Rob1968 Sun Feb 01, 2015 12:50pm

Is there a level/age group of play where you might call the offensive player for that much advancement, and contact, as his defender "gives ground."
Does the position of the offensive player's forearm have any influence on a decision to call this an offensive foul?

AremRed Sun Feb 01, 2015 01:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rob1968 (Post 953181)
Is there a level/age group of play where you might call the offensive player for that much advancement, and contact, as his defender "gives ground."

If the defender is "giving ground", how is that advancement illegal?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rob1968 (Post 953181)
Does the position of the offensive player's forearm have any influence on a decision to call this an offensive foul?

Are there any rules prohibiting an offensive player from holding off a defender with his forearm?

bob jenkins Sun Feb 01, 2015 01:01pm

I don't think I'd call this at any level I do.

And the position of the forearm can have some influence (but the movement of it has more), but not in this case.

Rob1968 Sun Feb 01, 2015 04:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 953182)
If the defender is "giving ground", how is that advancement illegal?



Are there any rules prohibiting an offensive player from holding off a defender with his forearm?

4-24-7 . . . It is not legal to use the hand and/or forearm to prevent an opponent from attacking the ball during a dribble . . ."

I'm looking for input as to how one would answer those questions a) in a setting where newer officials are being trained, and b) when an official is confronted by a coach with that inquiry.

Raymond Sun Feb 01, 2015 05:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rob1968 (Post 953224)
4-24-7 . . . It is not legal to use the hand and/or forearm to prevent an opponent from attacking the ball during a dribble . . ."

I'm looking for input as to how one would answer those questions a) in a setting where newer officials are being trained, and b) when an official is confronted by a coach with that inquiry.

In regards to the forearm, I'm looking for extension and displacement, and hindering the normal defensive activities.

bob jenkins Sun Feb 01, 2015 06:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rob1968 (Post 953224)
4-24-7 . . . It is not legal to use the hand and/or forearm to prevent an opponent from attacking the ball during a dribble . . ."

I'm looking for input as to how one would answer those questions a) in a setting where newer officials are being trained, and b) when an official is confronted by a coach with that inquiry.

Swatting away the "reach"

billyu2 Sun Feb 01, 2015 11:06pm

Point of the Foul #8. Officials Manual, p. 70.
 
Play 1: Another excellent illustration and reason for high school officials to stick with our own prescribed mechanics versus the "fashionable" fist up and leave trend.

Nevadaref Sun Feb 01, 2015 11:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by La Rikardo (Post 953163)
First play: I'll defer to the calling official's angle on the play.

Second play: I hate plays like this where a player hesitates when taking a 3 and then jumps into the airborne defender but I think in this case, unfortunately, it's a foul.

I'm not going to reward an offensive player for jumping into a defender.

Raymond Sun Feb 01, 2015 11:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 953244)
I'm not going to reward an offensive player for jumping into a defender.

the foul was on the player behind A1.

Nevadaref Sun Feb 01, 2015 11:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 953250)
the file was on the player behind A1.

So did B3 have the emery board?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1