![]() |
I wouldn't have a call on this play.
Based on when the official's hand is raised, I don't think the travel call was based on the initial stop. Perhaps the official thought the pivot foot came down before the ball was released. |
People will probably disagree with me, but I think we're all focusing on the wrong foot as the pivot foot here. Watch carefully when the player ends the dribble (gathers). At that moment, the right foot is flat on the ground and the left foot is either in the air or the left toe is barely touching. Assuming the C/new T thought the left foot was airborne, if he judges the right foot to be the pivot then it's an easy travel call.
That said, I don't like the official's mechanics. For one thing he appears lackadaisical. On another note, with the L rotating while a play is going on right in front of him, he shouldn't be in a hurry to move up and away from that play. Nothing wrong with two Cs at times. The game is always going toward the basket because the last time I checked, that's where you score. Yet many of us, especially during a 3-man rotation, are eager to move away from what we're officiating. Yeah, we're gonna get beat in transition once in a while. So what? I'd rather be in the right position 95% of the time if it means getting beat the other 5%. |
BNR nailed it. He moved the pivot several inches before the move to the basket.
|
I saw that too and it may be right. But I don't have an issue with his movement or his position. I don't think you can tell by one play. Always about the whole picture.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
it is also possible, that since the left foot dragged, the official deemed the right foot as the pivot foot and called the violation when the right foot was replanted
|
My mentor would often say that officials that see the pivot foot slide an inch are the same officials who miss more important action in a game. Top officials are busy refereeing the defense and don't see that pivot foot slide.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
That said, I don't consider a slide of 1" of a flat foot to be moving the pivot even if I see it....practically the entire shoe is covering entirely the same spot....even more than would be covered by the shoe after a typical pivot. |
Jake is a beast!
Great move by Jake. No travel. However, KyBoy, since you see this official so often, ask him what he sees. Demonstrate the move, and ask for a ruling. If you do it legally, he'll probably say so, and tell you make sure not to drag your pivot foot, or let it come down before shooting.
|
I think there was a travel on this play (sliding the pivot foot), but I don't think that the official was calling that the travel. His reaction was way too delayed for that to be the case. I think he was calling the step through as the travel.
So, he got it wrong twice on the same play. |
I don't have a travel here. I had to watch it three or four times. If that's the case it's usually not a big enough booger to pick.
|
The player establishes the left foot as pivot, then when his right foot comes down, it looks like the left foot may slightly leave the floor before coming back down. I'm almost certainly not going to catch that in real time, and even if I do, it's a marginal call.
If we do not determine that the pivot foot had left the floor and come back up at that time, there is no travel since the ball was released on a try before the pivot foot touched the floor after he lunged toward the basket with his right foot. |
I would not have called a travel on this play. The player did not travel when he stopped his dribble nor did he travel when he executed his "up and under" move.
I really wish officials would stop "splitting hairs" when calling travel violations. If you have to turn the video of a traveling call into the "Zapruder Film" to explain or see a travel....then it shouldn't have been called! It should simply be: it's either 100% /obvious travel...or it's NOTHING!...NOT: it looked funny/I THINK he travelled, so I'm going to call it. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46pm. |