![]() |
|
|
|||
Delay of inbound
Apparently this is a thing now; the player inbounding the ball on a baseline out of bounds play stands in bounds until their team is set up and then steps back so that you can hand them the ball.
Is this something that should be dealt with, or is it just mildly annoying to me and I should get over it? I guess if it gets excessive you could issue a DOG warning? |
|
|||
Quote:
Either wait for the thrower to get OOB and administer the throw-in or put the ball on the ground and start the throw-in. I would highly suggest going with the first option.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
Quote:
Is the rule different in NCAAW? |
|
||||
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
I do exactly the same - I will say "step out" one time and then if they don't, I'll drop the ball out of bounds and start my count.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Please don't just drop the ball so that it bounces in the throw-in spot. |
|
|||
Had a veteran official the other day who said to my partner in a critique, "you don't want to put the ball on the floor in that situation." An hour later I'm home watching a D1 game on ESPN2 and saw an official put the ball on the floor after a pretty short wait while the thrower was focused on getting instructions from the bench. Opinions are like @$$holes, I guess...
For me, when the wait becomes ludicrous and the thrower has repeatedly ignored me, I'll put it down. And yes, I sound the whistle when doing this; one final opportunity to indicate, "dude, I'm serious!" |
|
|||
That's fair. And since you said please and all, I'll change my mechanic on this in the future.
|
|
|||
Quote:
4-4 ART. 7 A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is: d. Available to a player after a goal and the official begins the throw-in count. 4.42.3 SITUATION: Following a goal by A1 the ball is: (a) inadvertently deflected under the bleachers; (b) bouncing on the court just outside the end line as B1 makes his/her way toward the ball; or (c) lying on the court just outside the end line as B1 delays the inbound by getting instruction from his/her coach. When does the throw-in begin and the ball become live? RULING: In (a), the official shall signal for the clock to be stopped. The throw-in begins and the ball becomes live when it is at the disposal of Team B. In (b) and (c), the throw-in begins and the ball becomes live when it is available to B1 and the official begins the throw-in count. In (c), the throw-in count begins when the official determines B1 has had ample time to secure the ball; it need not be in B1's possession. (4-4-7d)
__________________
You learn something new everyday ... |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Agreed, but there is a case play or interp that's right on point.
And, it says you can put the ball down and start your count. When to do it is part of the art of officiating. |
|
|||
My mistake ... for some reason my mind went to the ball being on the floor inbounds after a made basket.
__________________
You learn something new everyday ... |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
inbound | furlu55 | Basketball | 8 | Fri Feb 17, 2012 05:43pm |
inbound | furlu55 | Basketball | 3 | Thu Jan 27, 2011 10:01am |
Inbound | Curly1010 | Basketball | 2 | Wed Feb 10, 2010 10:10pm |
tell where to inbound | brianb87 | Basketball | 2 | Thu Feb 02, 2006 10:39pm |
inbound | xxssmen | Basketball | 2 | Fri Mar 12, 2004 09:00am |