![]() |
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
If they both returned to the floor on their feet, and A1 got the rebound... turned... and ran into B1 (who had not gained LGP)... what do you have? A blocking foul on B1. And it doesn't seem a whole lot different than if B1 is guarding A1 (who has the ball). B1 has not established LGP, and A1 trips while trying to dribble around him. That would be a blocking foul on B1... not a traveling violation on A1. Why do we give B1 more leeway since he's laying on the floor, and not standing? You don't need intent to call a foul against a player. Heck, there's plenty of times a foul by a player is an accident. I don't understand treating B1 different here, just because he fell. And at the same time penalizing A1 when he absolutely did nothing wrong. Unless you count not looking down, to make sure nobody fell to the floor, before taking a step after a rebound. By the way... the reason A1 fell to the floor is because of B1. He didn't just fall... he was tripped. |
My Take
I had a similar situation happen before, this is what I called:
Since Player B fell to the floor and could not possibly get up, and since Player A ran over her(B did not move her body in the way or anything like that) then it was a travel. If the player on the floor moved their feet/hands to halt the player, I may have called it a foul. But if she is lying on the floor being still, I see that as her owning a spot on the floor. |
Quote:
I think of a player standing on the court, not guarding an opponent, and an opponent simply runs through/over that player. The player who was run over, has a right to be on the court, and not be in peril of being a target, just because he/she was not trying to guard an opponent. I don't see that basic principle as giving more leeway to the player, but as a starting point to establish the rules of guarding, which are then expanded to define the priciples of competition - offense/defense. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
You seem to want to call a foul on B just because there was contact and B did not have LGP. Unfortunately, that is just not correct. B has to actually do something illegal for it to be a foul and not having LGP is not illegal. Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
If B1 was standing still and had not obtained LGP -- more likely to be a PC foul. If B1 was moving (and not in the same path / direction as in a screening play) and had not obtained LGP -- more likely to be a block. The OP is more like the first play. LGP give the defense additional leeway; that doesn't mean the defense doesn't have any rights without LGP. |
Great Example ...
Quote:
Thus, the title of this thread: Tripping, Or Being Tripped ??? |
Quote:
you are not entitled to lie down. you can fall down, and you might not mean it, but sometimes you just have to get the hell out of the way....and if you dont its a foul on you. (Did better on shift key...work in progress) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
All I've seen so far is player entitled to spot on floor provided he get there first. Got it, but that doesnt mean lying down is a legal position. the player standing as i mentioned has a spot. He was there forever. But because his elbows are sticking out that's a foul. Even if B1 runs near him on purpose. he cant be beyond his plane. when you are lying down your feet are on one end. vertical plane goes up. the rest of you is horizontal, out of your vertical plane...just like the screener. i see the player lying on the floor out of his vertical plane or taking up multiple spots on the floor. 6 foot player lying on floor takes up 2 or 3 spots. He only gets 1. so tell me the screwup. thx |
Some Questions ???
Why did the NFHS remove the "travel" call caseplay from the 2005-06 Casebook?
Why has IAABO (statewide, and again, not the NFHS) now come out, on record, and called this a blocking foul? Could it be because the "powers that be" have decided that this is now a blocking foul, even though the rule wording may be ambiguous? Why can't the grand poobah of the NFHS be a participating Forum member? That would make matters a lot simpler. https://sp.yimg.com/ib/th?id=HN.6080...2&pid=15.1&P=0 |
Quote:
The player lying on the floor is in a legal position (in NFHS only). If they stick up their arm or leg and trip a player with it, they're not. Exactly the same principle as your standing player. A stationary player owns their space from head to toe regardless if their orientation is vertical or horizontal . If that player sticks a limb outside the frame of their torso and causes contact, they have fouled. If they do not stick a limb outside of the frame of their torso, they are legal. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21pm. |