![]() |
Tripping, Or Being Tripped ???
Our state interpreter (IAABO, not the same as NFHS) emailed us this situation (below) yesterday:
A1 and B1 both jump in an attempt to rebound a missed try. A1 secures the rebound as B1 loses his/her balance and falls to floor behind A1. A1 spins to begin a dribble contacts B1 and falls. Is this a travel on A1 or foul on B1? Ruling: This is a blocking foul on B1. Although B1 fell to the floor, he/she did not obtain a legal guarding position, which requires an opponent to initially face a player with 2 feet on playing court and the front of the torso must be facing the opponent (Rule 4-23-2). Haven't we debated this on the Forum a few times? If I recall, some were of the opinion that a player was entitled to his place on the floor (literally) if he got there first. I believe that there was also some discussion regarding the difference between the NFHS, and NCAA, ruling on this play. Did we come to a consensus, based on NFHS rules, in line with the ruling described above, or did we not come to a consensus? |
LGP is not required for a player who is not moving. Never has been.
|
Guarding ???
Quote:
ART. 1 Guarding is the act of legally placing the body in the path of an offensive opponent. There is no minimum distance required between the guard and opponent, but the maximum is 6 feet when closely guarded. Every player is entitled to a spot on the playing court provided such player gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent. A player who extends an arm, shoulder, hip or leg into the path of an opponent is not considered to have a legal position if contact occurs. ART. 2 To obtain an initial legal guarding position: a. The guard must have both feet touching the playing court. b. The front of the guard’s torso must be facing the opponent. ART. 3 After the initial legal guarding position is obtained: a. The guard may have one or both feet on the playing court or be airborne, provided he/she has inbound status. b. The guard is not required to continue facing the opponent. c. The guard may move laterally or obliquely to maintain position, provided it is not toward the opponent when contact occurs. d. The guard may raise hands or jump within his/her own vertical plane. e. The guard may turn or duck to absorb the shock of imminent contact. ART. 4 Guarding an opponent with the ball or a stationary opponent without the ball: a. No time or distance is required to obtain an initial legal position. b. If the opponent with the ball is airborne, the guard must have obtained legal position before the opponent left the floor. ART. 5 Guarding a moving opponent without the ball: a. Time and distance are factors required to obtain an initial legal position. b. The guard must give the opponent the time and/or distance to avoid contact. c. The distance need not be more than two strides. d. If the opponent is airborne, the guard must have obtained legal position before the opponent left the floor. This stands out: Every player is entitled to a spot on the playing court provided such player gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent. But this also stands out: A player who extends an arm, shoulder, hip or leg into the path of an opponent is not considered to have a legal position if contact occurs. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
From a bob_jenkins post from a few years ago: Quote:
|
It's History ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
it seems like they are saying if a player is on the floor they will be called for a tripping/blocking call which doesn't make sense to me. I mean it could be the right call, but if you just have something when B dives on the ground and then A1 gets the ball and sees B on the floor and then runs over her that would be a foul on B.
I had something like that yesterday with a mad scramble for a loose ball, and then a player picked it up and tripped over one of the bodies on the floor. I wasn't going to call anything but my partner did. The coach was annoyed with the call but my partner, was "what am I not supposed to call anything? She got tripped." No intent on the trip, just an accident. I guess these plays are a case by case basis. |
You realize intent is irrelevant when determining whether a foul should be called, right?
|
of course, sorry I mean my partner's rationale.
|
And By Over, I Literally Mean Over ...
Quote:
https://sp.yimg.com/ib/th?id=HN.6080...1&pid=15.1&P=0 |
I don't agree with calling a travel on A1. Nothing A1 did caused him to travel, as the travel was actually caused by B1. And if B1 didn't obtain that spot on the court legally (LGP), then it seems as though it should be a blocking foul.
Is it fair? No. But neither call would be fair, so you have to go by the rules and make a decision that somebody isn't going to like. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
FWIW, I think that the correct call *should be* a blocking foul. Much like the "barking dog play", B is NOT entitled to a spot on the floor if s/he's literally on the floor. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
If they both returned to the floor on their feet, and A1 got the rebound... turned... and ran into B1 (who had not gained LGP)... what do you have? A blocking foul on B1. And it doesn't seem a whole lot different than if B1 is guarding A1 (who has the ball). B1 has not established LGP, and A1 trips while trying to dribble around him. That would be a blocking foul on B1... not a traveling violation on A1. Why do we give B1 more leeway since he's laying on the floor, and not standing? You don't need intent to call a foul against a player. Heck, there's plenty of times a foul by a player is an accident. I don't understand treating B1 different here, just because he fell. And at the same time penalizing A1 when he absolutely did nothing wrong. Unless you count not looking down, to make sure nobody fell to the floor, before taking a step after a rebound. By the way... the reason A1 fell to the floor is because of B1. He didn't just fall... he was tripped. |
My Take
I had a similar situation happen before, this is what I called:
Since Player B fell to the floor and could not possibly get up, and since Player A ran over her(B did not move her body in the way or anything like that) then it was a travel. If the player on the floor moved their feet/hands to halt the player, I may have called it a foul. But if she is lying on the floor being still, I see that as her owning a spot on the floor. |
Quote:
I think of a player standing on the court, not guarding an opponent, and an opponent simply runs through/over that player. The player who was run over, has a right to be on the court, and not be in peril of being a target, just because he/she was not trying to guard an opponent. I don't see that basic principle as giving more leeway to the player, but as a starting point to establish the rules of guarding, which are then expanded to define the priciples of competition - offense/defense. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
You seem to want to call a foul on B just because there was contact and B did not have LGP. Unfortunately, that is just not correct. B has to actually do something illegal for it to be a foul and not having LGP is not illegal. Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
If B1 was standing still and had not obtained LGP -- more likely to be a PC foul. If B1 was moving (and not in the same path / direction as in a screening play) and had not obtained LGP -- more likely to be a block. The OP is more like the first play. LGP give the defense additional leeway; that doesn't mean the defense doesn't have any rights without LGP. |
Great Example ...
Quote:
Thus, the title of this thread: Tripping, Or Being Tripped ??? |
Quote:
you are not entitled to lie down. you can fall down, and you might not mean it, but sometimes you just have to get the hell out of the way....and if you dont its a foul on you. (Did better on shift key...work in progress) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
All I've seen so far is player entitled to spot on floor provided he get there first. Got it, but that doesnt mean lying down is a legal position. the player standing as i mentioned has a spot. He was there forever. But because his elbows are sticking out that's a foul. Even if B1 runs near him on purpose. he cant be beyond his plane. when you are lying down your feet are on one end. vertical plane goes up. the rest of you is horizontal, out of your vertical plane...just like the screener. i see the player lying on the floor out of his vertical plane or taking up multiple spots on the floor. 6 foot player lying on floor takes up 2 or 3 spots. He only gets 1. so tell me the screwup. thx |
Some Questions ???
Why did the NFHS remove the "travel" call caseplay from the 2005-06 Casebook?
Why has IAABO (statewide, and again, not the NFHS) now come out, on record, and called this a blocking foul? Could it be because the "powers that be" have decided that this is now a blocking foul, even though the rule wording may be ambiguous? Why can't the grand poobah of the NFHS be a participating Forum member? That would make matters a lot simpler. https://sp.yimg.com/ib/th?id=HN.6080...2&pid=15.1&P=0 |
Quote:
The player lying on the floor is in a legal position (in NFHS only). If they stick up their arm or leg and trip a player with it, they're not. Exactly the same principle as your standing player. A stationary player owns their space from head to toe regardless if their orientation is vertical or horizontal . If that player sticks a limb outside the frame of their torso and causes contact, they have fouled. If they do not stick a limb outside of the frame of their torso, they are legal. |
Quote:
|
Camron is correct.
There is a casebook situation that specifically addresses this, and that interpretation remains in effect until it it specifically changed, which NFHS has not done. The screening rule is irrelevant in the situation being discussed. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33pm. |